Community
Smoke Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Smoke Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Smoke topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't create project

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
moreymichael
1290 Views, 13 Replies

Can't create project

I've got 3 Lacie thunderbolt drives that I cycle through for my projects. I've been using one successfully since switching to Smoke 2015 on a new MP. When I added the other 2 drives to the media list, Smoke will not create new projects on them. They appear on the list. They have ManagedFolders on them. I've been using these drives for 2 years now, so I know they work. They are exactly the same as the drive that works. 

Smoke does not tell me why it won't/can't create the project. I press the "create" button and nothing whatsoever happens. I think I saw this on the forum earlier, but I can't find it.

Cheers, Mike

Late 2013 MacPro, 10.9.5, 2.7 GHz 12-Core, 64GB ram, AMD D700, 1TB SSD
13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
BKM
Advisor
in reply to: moreymichael

Here is  thread with the exact same drive and problem.. Seems it was a permission issue that was finally fixed after changing permissions on the drive and a restart.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/General-Discussion/Cant-create-project-with-Lacie-Little-Big-Disk-Thun...

Flame/Smoke Editor
Check out the Premiumbeat Smoke Blog
http://www.premiumbeat.com/blog/category/smoke-2/
Message 3 of 14
moreymichael
in reply to: BKM

See the attachment for the screen grab. Tupac works fine, Biggie no workie. The permissions seem to be fine, unless there is a different permission somewhere else.

Cheers, Mike

Message 4 of 14
Robert.Adam

Hi Mike.

Have you checked Smoke's _app.log and _shell.log (in the /usr/discreet/log/ folder)? There might be more detailed error messages as to why it doesn't want to create the projects.