Community
Mudbox Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Mudbox Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Mudbox topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alias To Maya To Mudbox Issues

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
ericgharsh
424 Views, 1 Reply

Alias To Maya To Mudbox Issues

Hey everyone,

I'm new to mudbox and I could use some help. My original model is made in alias, its a geometric form, and I brought it into Maya to convert to polygons and transfer to mudbox. Its supposed to be an origami structure and I wanted to add in some wrinkles.

After many varied attempts, the transfer isn't working properly - some faces come in apparently backwards, rendering them either invisible or completely black if I choose "show both sides."

When I try to sculpt, the faces split leaving huge gaps.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I attached images of the alias file, the mudbox import, and the splitting.

Thanks!

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2

This looks like an issue of needing to do some housekeeping work in Maya before sending to Mudbox.

I'd try a few of the following:

1. Select the model and go to Display->Polygons->Face Normals - be sure all the green lines are pointing out away from the model. If not, then select all faces (in face selection mode - F11), and try conforming the normals (found in the polygons menu set -> Normals -> Conform). You can also manually select backfacing faces, and use Normals->Reverse to flip those faces.

2. Make sure the model does not have any bad geometry by going to Mesh->Clean Up. I usually use these settings. If you run this and no selection is made - then your model is clean. If something gets selected, you know you need to fix that issues.

Screenshot 2014-07-30 18.17.40.png