Announcements
Visit Fusion 360 Feedback Hub, the great way to connect to our Product, UX, and Research teams. See you there!
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vee Carving

Vee Carving

I'm a woodworker and a machinist.  I use my CNC router often and I LOVE Fusion 360.  I would love for you guys to impliment a v-carving capability.  I have done it in Fusion 360 using a consistent width font and a fixed draft angle whith a cut into a body.  This gives me the edges to select and trace.  However, this method does not work with fancy fonts because the extrude/cut fails.  Plus it's a pain to go in and select everthing all the time.

Can you guys go look at v-carve pro and impliment some similar functionality?  I really don't think this would be super hard to do as there are methodical ways to define the paths from any shape.  Then I wouldn't need to spend a lot of money and juggle two software packages to create nice lettering for my projects.  Further, you can do very awesome inlay with a v bit.  I've done it before with Vectric's products.

Can you add this to your roadmap plans?

28 Comments
keqingsong
Community Manager
Status changed to: Gathering Support

Helmi74
Collaborator

Yeah that would be great. I also asked for other wood related CNC stuff (like dogboneing) but that would be great, too.

tony978
Advocate

the funny part is autodesk owns delcam the maker of artcam . So I hope they move some of that stuff over . 

NickMathis
Contributor

Yes, v-carving would be incredibly helpful as this is a common CNC technique for woodworkers.  Especially for inlay work.

scottmoyse
Mentor

It's likely the Fusion team will need to do a lot of work on the way they handle fonts. It's crap in Inventor and it looks like they've used a similar approach here with Fusion. Once fonts can easily be converted to sketch geometry we will be able to loads of stuff on the CAM / CNC front.

tony978
Advocate