FMDesktop

Reply
Contributor
sherrick
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Message 1 of 4 (231 Views)

numbering spaces...

231 Views, 3 Replies
02-07-2008 02:07 PM
If I need to renumber a whole floorplan of spaces, what is the best way to do that? I know how to reassign a few spaces, but I have around 50-60 spaces on this floorplan and I want a new naming convention altogether.

Any help is much appreciated.
Active Member
skomisarek
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-03-2007
Message 2 of 4 (231 Views)

Re: numbering spaces...

02-11-2008 01:04 PM in reply to: sherrick
If you want to maintain the existing 'data' on / in a space then the rename for each space is best way to go. If you can get rid of the data and start over then the Delete Record option will allow you to do just that, Delete the records and start over. There are ways to adjust the room number from the back end - HOWEVER - this is not supported and because of hidden links between tables and it will be very easy to break the links of data. Working in the 'backend' should only be done after backing up the data and with proper schema knowledge.
Contributor
sherrick
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Message 3 of 4 (231 Views)

Re: numbering spaces...

02-13-2008 08:16 AM in reply to: sherrick
I believe I understand what you are saying. I have to do this for each space one-by-one? Is there a way to renumber a whole drawing at once? That is, I have on the order of 80 or so spaces for each drawing. Do I have to do it one-by-one?
Active Member
skomisarek
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-03-2007
Message 4 of 4 (231 Views)

Re: numbering spaces...

02-13-2008 09:12 AM in reply to: sherrick
If you have Data currently in FMDesktop and want to keep that data connected from the 'old' space number to the 'new' space number - then the one by one method is the best.

If you can 'start' over, open the drawing in AutoCAD, do a group edit, delete all the records (you will lose all data on the space, equipment, occupant, etc...) then renumber the spaces and use the Convert to Spaces command to relink the spaces to the DB. Then Update your plans (Plan Views).
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.