FMDesktop

Reply
Contributor
bobbyc42
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-15-2007
Message 1 of 13 (180 Views)

Importing DWF

180 Views, 12 Replies
03-15-2007 08:23 AM
Is the procedure for importing a DWF different for Revit Systems 2 than for Revit 9.1?
*Wanderer
Message 2 of 13 (180 Views)

Re: Importing DWF

03-15-2007 08:39 AM in reply to: bobbyc42
I haven't tried that myself (not quite a revit user yet), but, I really
can't imagine there'd be any difference... I certainly don't remember
any mention of in from the classes I took.

I'm curious if you've tried this and had a problem (in which case I'd
like to know, too... I'm creating spaces in abs and might wonder if they
import differently than those from ADT)?
Or whether you're just feeling this out before you change products?

(there was a document posted 2/16/07 about FMDesktop and Revit Rooms in
a thread titled 'cubicles' that might be interesting)

cheers!

Melanie Perry
***not all who wander are lost***
http://mistressofthedorkness.blogspot.com

bobbyc42 wrote:
> Is the procedure for importing a DWF different for Revit Systems 2 than for Revit 9.1?
Contributor
bobbyc42
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-15-2007
Message 3 of 13 (180 Views)

Re: Importing DWF

03-15-2007 09:16 AM in reply to: bobbyc42
Yes, I have tried to import from Revit System 2 following the same procedures as detailed in DWF Publishing Requirements for Autodesk FMDesktop 7 subtitled Publishing from Autodesk Revit Building 9.1 Following these procedures I can successfully accomplish an import from 9.1 but not from System 2.
Employee
mark.evans
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎12-22-2004
Message 4 of 13 (180 Views)

Re: Importing DWF

03-19-2007 09:52 PM in reply to: bobbyc42
Revit Systems 2 is not officially supported for integration with FMDesktop. We haven't tested it, but we should do so when we have some time. I'll make a note to the QA team.

Does your model have rooms defined in it?

Mark Evans
Autodesk


Mark Evans
Senior Product Manager
AEC Division, Simulation Product Line
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
bobbyc42
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-15-2007
Message 5 of 13 (180 Views)

Re: Importing DWF

03-20-2007 07:55 AM in reply to: bobbyc42
Yes, all spaces are identified with a unique number
Employee
mark.evans
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎12-22-2004
Message 6 of 13 (180 Views)

Re: Importing DWF

03-26-2007 08:03 PM in reply to: bobbyc42
As I understand this, Revit Systems does not have room obects. Therefore, it cannot produce a DWF file that is compatible as a "Space Plan" in FMDesktop. It's DWF files can be imported as "Plan Views" for reference purposes.

Mark Evans


Mark Evans
Senior Product Manager
AEC Division, Simulation Product Line
Autodesk, Inc.

Employee
mark.evans
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎12-22-2004
Message 7 of 13 (180 Views)

Re: Importing DWF

03-27-2007 11:17 AM in reply to: bobbyc42
There are two incorrect statements in my prior post. Revit MEP does use the same room object as Revit Architecture, as you would expect. And RME adds engineering parameters that are valuable to a Facility Manager later on. In the future, the FMDesktop applications plan to leverage that information.

The second error is that my limited testing today shows that a DWF file from Revit MEP cannot be imported even as a Plan View in Facility Manager.

We have some work to do here. Fortunately, you've gotten the attention of the Product Managers of both FMDesktop and Revit MEP and this will get fixed at some point. This is an important workflow for both products.

Mark Evans
Product Manager, FM Solutions


Mark Evans
Senior Product Manager
AEC Division, Simulation Product Line
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
bobbyc42
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-15-2007
Message 8 of 13 (180 Views)

Re: Importing DWF

03-28-2007 06:34 AM in reply to: bobbyc42
Thank you for your clarification of the issues involved. It is such an important concern for us that we have asked for a swap out of our system 2 software for 9.1
Active Member
jaynesworth
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-16-2007
Message 9 of 13 (180 Views)

Re: Importing DWF

04-23-2007 05:49 AM in reply to: bobbyc42
Is there any date available for when Revit Seriies 2 will be able to make FMDesktop compatible DWFs?
Employee
KyleB_Autodesk
Posts: 955
Registered: ‎10-21-2005
Message 10 of 13 (180 Views)

Re: Importing DWF

04-23-2007 08:08 AM in reply to: bobbyc42
We have already released the next version of the program, Revit MEP 2008, which unfortunately also contains the same issue. So you are aware, the issue impacts all programs in the Revit 2008 family, and not just Revit MEP 2008.

Most likely this fix would come in an updated build to be released in the future. I can't publicly commit to a date for release of that fix, but know that this is an important item that we will try and resolve as soon as possible.

Kyle B
Revit MEP Product Manager


Kyle Bernhardt
Product Line Manager
Revit Services
Autodesk, Inc.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.