FM

Reply
*Paddleford, Jace
Message 1 of 16 (250 Views)

facility management / autocad help. ASAP

250 Views, 15 Replies
01-16-2003 11:37 PM
the firm i work for has been asked to do some facility management. what the
client is wanting (they have autocad) is to be able to click on a
workstation on the floor plan and it give them the information of that
employee. i have no earthly idea how that is going to work. is there some
autodesk software that is designed for this type of work? any help????
*Brown, Anne
Message 2 of 16 (250 Views)

Re: facility management / autocad help. ASAP

01-16-2003 11:45 PM in reply to: *Paddleford, Jace
Jace -

Take a look at the discussion group for Facilities Management and
ask for help there.

FACILITIES MANAGEMENT
http://discussion.autodesk.com/WebX?14@@.f12d9f4 or
news://discussion.autodesk.com/autodesk.fm

--
Anne Brown
Manager, Moderator
Autodesk Product Support Discussion Groups
Discussion Q&A: http://www.autodesk.com/discussion

Jace Paddleford wrote:
>
> the firm i work for has been asked to do some facility management. (snip)
*Brower, Dann
Message 3 of 16 (250 Views)

Re: facility management / autocad help. ASAP

01-16-2003 11:46 PM in reply to: *Paddleford, Jace
You could make each workstation a block with preset and hidden atributes.
Then when you type attedit it brings up all the info you gave it.
Then if someone moves or quits you can change the info easily.


"Jace Paddleford" wrote in message
news:71AE9F63108EBA740959014D968F733E@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> the firm i work for has been asked to do some facility management. what
the
> client is wanting (they have autocad) is to be able to click on a
> workstation on the floor plan and it give them the information of that
> employee. i have no earthly idea how that is going to work. is there some
> autodesk software that is designed for this type of work? any help????
>
>
*Paddleford, Jace
Message 4 of 16 (250 Views)

Re:

01-16-2003 11:51 PM in reply to: *Paddleford, Jace
thanks Anne, i hadnt noticed that group.

Dann - ive thought of that, but we are talking around 600 employees at this
location, and i have a sneaking suspicion that this will grow to the entire
company 2000+ employees. it could / would work, but was wondering what
options there are out there.

thanks for the suggestion
"Dann Brower" wrote in message
news:092EE95362C54BE7C7299B68DFF4E67D@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> You could make each workstation a block with preset and hidden atributes.
> Then when you type attedit it brings up all the info you gave it.
> Then if someone moves or quits you can change the info easily.
>
>
> "Jace Paddleford" wrote in message
> news:71AE9F63108EBA740959014D968F733E@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > the firm i work for has been asked to do some facility management. what
> the
> > client is wanting (they have autocad) is to be able to click on a
> > workstation on the floor plan and it give them the information of that
> > employee. i have no earthly idea how that is going to work. is there
some
> > autodesk software that is designed for this type of work? any help????
> >
> >
>
>
Valued Contributor
Martenwt
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎11-20-2003
Message 5 of 16 (250 Views)

Re: facility management / autocad help. ASAP

01-17-2003 12:13 AM in reply to: *Paddleford, Jace
This probably won't help you, but with ADT you can do exactly what you what you want.
*johnson, dc
Message 6 of 16 (250 Views)

Re:

01-17-2003 12:21 AM in reply to: *Paddleford, Jace
you could look into arcview as well



--
Dave C. Johnson
WWC Engineering
Sheridan WY.
Windows 2k2
Acad Map 5
Survcadd XML
remove OUT to reply
Distinguished Contributor
longleyje
Posts: 233
Registered: ‎12-09-2003
Message 7 of 16 (250 Views)

Re:

01-17-2003 12:40 AM in reply to: *Paddleford, Jace
If you don't have ADT and you don't have Arcview and you are limited to what you have, is this not, then, an appropriate place to use AutoCAD's database connectivity?.

Beyond that I would be over my head as to the specific how-tos. A2K shipped with db_sample.dwg and db_sample.mdb (Microsoft Access database) that did/does do this sort of application. A starting point at any rate

JimL
=:-}
*Paddleford, Jace
Message 8 of 16 (250 Views)

Re: facility management / autocad help. ASAP

01-17-2003 01:09 AM in reply to: *Paddleford, Jace
an update - just meet w/ the client. they are wanting to somehow link a
drawing to their sql database. this way they can locate employees by floor
/ department, either by the database or floor plan. i think the floor plan
would be a dwf format rather than a dwg.

im not sure what im getting myself into.................


"Jace Paddleford" wrote in message
news:71AE9F63108EBA740959014D968F733E@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> the firm i work for has been asked to do some facility management. what
the
> client is wanting (they have autocad) is to be able to click on a
> workstation on the floor plan and it give them the information of that
> employee. i have no earthly idea how that is going to work. is there some
> autodesk software that is designed for this type of work? any help????
>
>
Distinguished Contributor
dlacomb
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎12-08-2003
Message 9 of 16 (250 Views)

Re: facility management / autocad help. ASAP

01-17-2003 05:57 AM in reply to: *Paddleford, Jace
If they have AutoCAD, you may not need much else. You could create a block of the workstation and assign attributes (text information) to each with whatever information (fields) you want to be displayed. AutoCAD 2002 also allows an easy way of extracting the information to a spreadsheet. Very simple and straight-forward. Hope this helps.

Dave LaComb, AIA
*Gazit, Arad
Message 10 of 16 (250 Views)

Re:

01-18-2003 01:01 AM in reply to: *Paddleford, Jace
Jace hi,

The program that should be able to do what you need is Autodesk Map.

Map can help you connect different AutoCAD objects to more Data (In or out
of the file).
It can also help query data based on different criteria: Names, Location and
much more.
Map 5 or 6 can enable you to migrate all your drawing data (When too large)
to Oracle Spatial Database.

You should look into it.

Arad


"Jace Paddleford" wrote in message
news:B95917FCD323F06B06CCC3AB75ED0EA0@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> an update - just meet w/ the client. they are wanting to somehow link a
> drawing to their sql database. this way they can locate employees by
floor
> / department, either by the database or floor plan. i think the floor
plan
> would be a dwf format rather than a dwg.
>
> im not sure what im getting myself into.................
>
>
> "Jace Paddleford" wrote in message
> news:71AE9F63108EBA740959014D968F733E@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > the firm i work for has been asked to do some facility management. what
> the
> > client is wanting (they have autocad) is to be able to click on a
> > workstation on the floor plan and it give them the information of that
> > employee. i have no earthly idea how that is going to work. is there
some
> > autodesk software that is designed for this type of work? any help????
> >
> >
>
>
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.