Flow Design Forum (Read Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Flow Design Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Flow Design topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

same wind tunnel size for two different models

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
MWMonteith
711 Views, 4 Replies

same wind tunnel size for two different models

Hello,

I am a current student and I am new to Autodesk flow design.  I am doing some work for a team of designers at my school, they are trying to compare drag forces on a go kart with a fairing on it to and a go kart without a faring.  When I upload the models into flow design, the wind tunnel sizes are different because the assembly files are different, and the drag forces displayed make the fairing seem arbitrary.  I know you can change wind tunnel sizes with by dragging the arrows, but is there anyway to ensure that the sizes are the same?

Thanks,

Thomas 

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Royce_adsk
in reply to: MWMonteith

If I understand correctly, you are looking to be able to type in the size of the wind tunnel directly?

Cheers,

Royce.Abel
Technical Support Manager

Message 3 of 5
mayur_dhumal
in reply to: MWMonteith

Hi Thomas,

For every model, Flow Design determines a default size for the wind tunnel based on the size of the model.
For best results, the gap between the wind tunnel and the model should be two to three times the dimension of the model in that respective dimension.
The wind tunnel should also be adequately sized in the direction of flow. Ideally, the wind tunnel should extend at least 2 model lengths upstream and at least 4 model lengths downstream. This distance ensures that the boundaries do not artificially affect the flow approaching the model, and allows correct formation of the wake downstream of the model.

For more info refer : http://help.autodesk.com/view/ADSKFD/ENU/?guid=GUID-9B85F4A0-5072-454D-8710-CCFF26507BE9

Regards,
Mayur
Message 4 of 5