Community
FBX Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s FBX Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular FBX topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Missing texture in FBX file

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
claustres
783 Views, 8 Replies

Missing texture in FBX file

Hello,

I wrote a FBX importer that retrieves materials based on the DisplayTexture.cxx example.
However, I cannot properly get the texture in the attached file (I also provide my code).
NOTE : I removed the vertex data from the file because it is too big, it is just given as illustration
but do not try to open it (I have the original file/texture if one needs it to test).

I am not a FBX expert but it seems that the texture is attached to the geometry and not the material
within the file. I don't know why, maybe it is a different way than usual to manage texture in FBX...
Nevertheless, if I convert the file to OBJ with the FBX converter the output is fine, i.e. the material has a map_Kd.
So I suspect my code does not cover all possible cases and I hope that someone can help me extend it.

Thanks in advance.

13841_MeagqOAEM8iIXIg1gDqN.zip

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
in reply to: claustres

Why does this file crash the ViewScene.exe viewer from the 2006 FBX SDK?

Do all FBX files written with 2009.3 SDK now crash older viewers?
If so, why?
Message 3 of 9
Anonymous

I don't really have time to look into this, but I do know the latest SDK allows some pointers to be NULL, where previously there has always been a value. Many programs that aren't coded to check for valid pointers are crashing. Sorry I can't help more right now, but am buried in non-FBX work at the moment, and was just trying to catch up on messages during compiles 🙂
Message 4 of 9
Anonymous

The 2006 viewer program crashes when it calls the Import() function. All pointers are valid:
gImporter->Import(*gScene);