Area :: Header
New tools, templates and workflows
Announcing Extension 2 for 3ds Max 2015 and 3ds Max Design 2015
Discussion Groups

FBX Plug-ins Import-Export Discussions

Reply
Contributor
molemansd7
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-10-2008

Export Selection Not Exporting Anim

37 Views, 8 Replies
02-21-2012 06:58 AM
Hello,
I've recently been working on setting up a motion capture pipeline for our studio, utilizing Motionbuilder 2012 and Maya 2012. Some coworkers that are currently working on another project are doing something similar as well. They haven't been having the same issue I have, so I'm curious as to what the difference is.

The problem is as follows:
In a test scene, I created 3 joints to simulate an arm. I keyed them at frame 1, 12 and 24 to get some motion on them. I select the root join, and then the hierarchy with 'select -hi;', and go to Export Selection, with nothing but the Animation box checked. (I've also used the default Motionbuilder and Autodesk Media & Entertainment presets)I save out that FBX file, and when I import again, it imports the joints, without the animation data.

The only way I can get the animation data to export is if I select the animCurve nodes directly, along with the joints before using Export Selection.

The guys on the other project say that they just select the joint hierarchy, and export. They're using version 2012.1 and I'm using 2012.2 of the FBX plugin. Other than that, the software and settings were identical.

Any thoughts/recommendations? Thanks.
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
CarlosC_1
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Export Selection Not Exporting Anim

02-22-2012 07:07 AM in reply to: molemansd7
Hello molemansd7!

When you go to make your selection for export, you only have to select the root joint, not the whole skeleton (although, in my 3 joint test, selecting the whole hierarchy did not prohibit the animation from exporting properly). Using the default settings of both the Motionbuilder and Autodesk Media anc Entertainment presets, I was able to see my animation play back properly in MotionBuilder and Maya.

When you say "and when I import again", do you mean re-importing back to Maya or importing into Mobu? If you meant Mobu, what happens if you re-import your FBX back into Maya, do you still have the problem?

Also, you can test to see what happens when you do an Export All, perhaps you will get a different result.

If you are still having trouble, please feel free to attach your test file and we will take a look and see if we can find a solution.

Regards,
Carlos
Please use plain text.
Contributor
molemansd7
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-10-2008

Re: Export Selection Not Exporting Anim

02-24-2012 09:19 AM in reply to: molemansd7
Hi Carlos,
I was trying to import back into Maya just to see if the data was there.

I was able to use Export All to get the data out. Alternatively, I could select the joint(s), as well as the animCurves directly, and use export selection. This would work fine as well.

I'm attaching my files...
the .mb is the base scene file I was using to test.
the .fbx was made by selecting just the root joint (joint1), and exporting using the Media & Entertainment preset. The only change I made to the preset was I adjusted the file format to be ASCII instead of binary in case you wanted to look at it.

I also went through and uninstalled all previous .fbx plugins and deleted preference files before re-installing the latest version of the plugin. Still not working, though.

* I didn't see the files posted after submitting... did they get through alright?
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
CarlosC_1
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Export Selection Not Exporting Anim

02-24-2012 12:29 PM in reply to: molemansd7
Hi again molemansd7,

No, your files did not attach themselves to your post, I think the forum was not working properly earlier.

Please try again.

-Carlos
Please use plain text.
Contributor
molemansd7
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-10-2008

Re: Export Selection Not Exporting Anim

02-27-2012 05:24 AM in reply to: molemansd7
Okay... trying to attach them again.
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
CarlosC_1
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Export Selection Not Exporting Anim

02-27-2012 07:05 AM in reply to: molemansd7
Hello again molemansd7,

I don't see them attached to your post. I sent you a pm with some instructions.

Regards,
Carlos
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
Numerator
Posts: 665
Registered: ‎02-19-2008

Re: Export Selection Not Exporting Anim

05-03-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: molemansd7
Need to use .zip to attach
Please use plain text.
Moderator
Steve_Curley
Posts: 19,236
Registered: ‎08-07-2007

Re: Export Selection Not Exporting Anim

05-03-2012 09:54 AM in reply to: molemansd7
Please read this post for help with attachments.

Max 4.2 through 2015 (SP2+EXT1), Composite 2014.
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 335.23).

Please use plain text.
Contributor
molemansd7
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-10-2008

Re: Export Selection Not Exporting Anim

05-03-2012 09:57 AM in reply to: molemansd7
We never actually figured out what was wrong... though it seems to have been something in my preferences, or buried somewhere in my installation. The only way we were able to fix it was to wipe anything Maya related off my system, and reinstall. Kind of frustrating, but it seems to only be an issue I was having.
Please use plain text.