Factory Design Suite General Discussion

Factory Design Suite General Discussion

Reply
Member
racaldwell1367
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-22-2012
Message 1 of 3 (426 Views)

Wireframe Building Walls in Factory Design

426 Views, 2 Replies
08-22-2012 01:44 PM

I made the building walls and features in Autocad Architecture and brought it into Inventor Factory as an overlay on the new layout.  The walls appear only as wireframe regardless of visibilty settings. Also, I can not select any features of the building. All assets I am putting into the layout are referenced in the real building from the column lines. Not being able to measure or move assets to the center of a column is a real hinderance.

 

Is there a way to make solid walls and be able to use the building features just as any other asset?

Employee
XuesongBai
Posts: 437
Registered: ‎03-15-2009
Message 2 of 3 (419 Views)

Re: Wireframe Building Walls in Factory Design

08-22-2012 06:21 PM in reply to: racaldwell1367

Hi there,

The ACA building walls in Inventor as an overlay, these are client graphics.

If you want to use them as other asset, you need to do the followings:

1)     Convert AEC objects to 3D solid through CONVERTTO3DSOLIDS command in ACA

2)     Click Get Started Tab>-Create Asset>-Import DWG Solids in Inventor factory

 

Thanks
-Xuesong

Active Member
daniel.balogh
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-31-2013
Message 3 of 3 (242 Views)

Re: Wireframe Building Walls in Factory Design

02-10-2014 10:19 AM in reply to: XuesongBai

I'm generally not someone, who mocks around, but I was facing the same issue, and I find, when ADSK creates some interaction for this very goal, namely to connect architectural objects from Acad with machinery from Inventor, this is a major lack of concept, that the building around the machine-layout doesn't appear solid......

Can't believe, this was such a complicated thing to implement......

BR,

Daniel

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.