Factory Design Suite General Discussion

Factory Design Suite General Discussion

Reply
Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,111
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 29 (805 Views)

Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

805 Views, 28 Replies
05-07-2012 11:02 AM

There is a new, free technology preview on Autodesk Labs.

 

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/factory_modz/

 

How would you like to model and simulate your factory floor using the same technology that is used in game engines? Please let us know if this is a worthwhile idea? You can respond to this thread or send email to labs.factory.modz@autodesk.com. Thanks.



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
Board Manager
scott.sheppard
Posts: 1,111
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 29 (782 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

05-08-2012 09:19 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

The team is looking for feedback on this technology. We had a limited number of downloads in the first hour of availability. Would it help if I offered free beer for trying this tech preview?



Scott Sheppard
Program Manager
Autodesk Labs
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
matthew.w
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎01-21-2004
Message 3 of 29 (773 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

05-08-2012 09:43 PM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Beer always helps. What a cool bit of software, I installed it on Inventor Pro 2013 and it looked like it gave me all of the Factory Design Utilities for Inventor. Am I right?

Had trouble on an old notebook when it ran out of memory but fine on other PC's.

 

Matthew

CADPRO Systems Ltd

Matthew
matthew.w@cadpro.co.nz
+64 9 302 4028
Mentor
safiredesignengineers
Posts: 591
Registered: ‎06-28-2008
Message 4 of 29 (728 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

05-16-2012 06:41 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Hi Scott

 

i havn't tried this yet as ive been realy busy, but from the video it looks like it might be what i'm looking for with multiphysics simulation in inventor?

is this usable with standard inventor parts and models or is it just for the workshop software?

 

will it be easier and better to set up that simulation for real world playing, like a 3d sandbox?

 

does it make use of ropes, chains etc..

 

i would like to try it out if it has the capabilities to play in inventor?

 

oh, i would like free beer too!

 

regards Adrian

Employee
jeff.pek
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
Message 5 of 29 (721 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

05-16-2012 07:36 AM in reply to: safiredesignengineers

Hi Adrian -

 

This is usable, in a limited sense, with standard Inventor parts. But the extra assets that it ships with have extra information attached to them to define how they operate within the Modz environment.

 

Today, it doesn't really handle other types of objects, but it might be possible to add your own scripts (which we haven't documented) to apply some behaviors to additional components.

 

Jeff

Mentor
safiredesignengineers
Posts: 591
Registered: ‎06-28-2008
Message 6 of 29 (719 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

05-16-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: jeff.pek

hi jeff

 

from the video i saw it looks great, but it would need to be simple to use and set up. I would love to have areally good simple to set up 3d sandbox that can be used / played with in inventor.

 

Is this likley to happen?

 

regards Adrian

Employee
jeff.pek
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
Message 7 of 29 (716 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

05-16-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: safiredesignengineers

Hi again -

 

Not sure what you mean.

Just install the product, and you can use it with Inventor.

 

Jeff

Mentor
safiredesignengineers
Posts: 591
Registered: ‎06-28-2008
Message 8 of 29 (714 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

05-16-2012 09:01 AM in reply to: jeff.pek

Hi jeff

 

I just downloaded it, i created a simple box shaped part and copied it a few times dotted around the 3d space and up off the factory floor, i then ran the factory modz and nothing happened?

 

I expected all the boxes to fall to the floor?

 

is gravity not switched on or do i need to set gravity up?

 

regards

 

adrian

Employee
jeff.pek
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
Message 9 of 29 (711 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

05-16-2012 10:17 AM in reply to: safiredesignengineers

Hi -

 

You should really use the "modz" assets (conveyors, etc.) that are added into the library when working with it. It would take extra work, which we're really not ready to support yet, to get other models to be "live" within the environment.

 

Jeff

Mentor
safiredesignengineers
Posts: 591
Registered: ‎06-28-2008
Message 10 of 29 (709 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

05-16-2012 10:47 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Hi Jeff

 

thats what i thought, i think this multi physics simulation technology should be as standard in the inventor package but so it reacts with standrd inventor parts and assemlies.

 

the dynamic simulation is too long winded to set up and takes forever for results somtimes.

 

a good 3d sandbox in inventor for inventing would be great!  perhaps one day it will happen 8-)

 

regards Adrian

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.