Factory Design Suite General Discussion

Factory Design Suite General Discussion

Reply
Employee
jeff.pek
Posts: 348
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
Message 11 of 29 (279 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

05-16-2012 10:55 AM in reply to: safiredesignengineers

Yes, perhaps :-)

 

Thanks for the feedback. If you do get into working with the assets we've provided, please let us know what other comments you have.

 

Jeff

Active Member
Ion01
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-05-2007
Message 12 of 29 (261 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

06-08-2012 11:17 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

This is a great tool and would be a huge help to me. I downloaded the add-on but I am missing the transport asset which I really need. Is there a way to get this?

Contributor
strijkp
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎01-10-2011
Message 13 of 29 (255 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

06-11-2012 03:55 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Hi All,

 

I've been playing around with Factory Modz and must say I really like it!! 2 questions:1. How to use custom parts rather then boxes as feed for the generator object? 2. How to define a forklift truck has to pickup a pallet when object capacitiy is reached and ride it to a storage rack. Mine only pick one box at a time.

 

Peter

Employee
XuesongBai
Posts: 441
Registered: ‎03-15-2009
Message 14 of 29 (247 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

06-11-2012 07:26 PM in reply to: strijkp

Hi,

 

For question1: you can place the custom asset and fill the name of asset in FM_SHAPE properties of Generator.Please refer to the snapshot attached.

For question2:Currently it is not supported to pick one pallet at once by forklift truck.

 

Active Member
Ion01
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-05-2007
Message 15 of 29 (236 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

06-12-2012 07:14 AM in reply to: jeff.pek

I am trying to set up a representation of what we are currently doing. I am unable to figure out how the asset "Processor" works. Also, it would be incredibly helpful in the future if the generator made product based on whether a rack or pallet had a certain number of product on it. This would allow us to simulate a pull system for product movement instead of a push system like you have it set now. 

Also, for shops like ours that have variations in products if we could assign properties to the products that would vary like the color does that would be great. This would allow us to simulate our shop operations where one product might be larger and take longer to go through each process while the next might take less time and then we can determine how our process will handle those situations. Just some thoughts.

If anyone could please explain what the processor does and how to use it I would appreciate it. Thanks!

Employee
XuesongBai
Posts: 441
Registered: ‎03-15-2009
Message 16 of 29 (231 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

06-12-2012 07:10 PM in reply to: Ion01

Hi,

 

That is good suggestion.

 

Regarding to the "processor", that need to invoke "Sink" asset and "Processor" asset to simulate the process workflow. Please refer to the video attached.

 

Thanks,

-Xuesong

Active Member
Ion01
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-05-2007
Message 17 of 29 (223 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

06-13-2012 07:40 AM in reply to: XuesongBai

Thanks! One last question: Is it possible to have a person or fork lift take an object from a pallet to a conveyor? 

Employee
XuesongBai
Posts: 441
Registered: ‎03-15-2009
Message 18 of 29 (217 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

06-13-2012 08:39 PM in reply to: Ion01

It is not supported to have a person or fork lift take an object from a pallet to a conveyor currently.

 

-Xuesong

Active Member
AnJanson
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-27-2007
Message 19 of 29 (196 Views)

Does not work with the german FDS

06-28-2012 05:26 AM in reply to: scott.sheppard

Hi,

the current versions does work with the german Inventor/FDS version.

Will you offer a 'german compatible' update?

Regards

Andreas

Employee
jeff.pek
Posts: 348
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
Message 20 of 29 (193 Views)

Re: Project Factory.Modz() for Inventor available on Autodesk Labs

06-28-2012 05:34 AM in reply to: jeff.pek

Hi Andreas -

 

At this point in time, we don't have any plans to publish an update that will be compatible with the localized versions of the Suite.

 

Jeff

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!