Factory Design Utilities Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Factory Design Utilities Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Factory Design Utilities topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ACAD - 3d Arch Dwg

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
rokowski
685 Views, 7 Replies

ACAD - 3d Arch Dwg

First I'm new to factory....

I have a model (Id building) that I'm importing into factory - I inserted as an overlay - see attachment

Additionally I have a number of assets (Tanks,pumps etc)

When I produce the view on my drawing (idw)....The model for the building does not show

What is the method to show the 3d model of the building?

Thank you in advance

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
jeff.pek
in reply to: rokowski

Hi -

Thanks for your question!

While generating the drawing through the regular Inventor IDW facility doesn't handle the inclusion of the overlay, the Publish/Update DWG command, on the Layout Tools dropdown panel, will do this. It will generate a DWG (actually a pair of them), which contains the 2d representations of the layout, and will xref in the overlay DWG.

Hope this helps,

Jeff

Message 3 of 8
rokowski

Jeff,

Thanks for the reply....

This dropdown that you mentioned...Is it on the Model side of (Inventor/Factory)  or the drawing side (Idw)

What I'm looking to do in Factory is Import "Buildings that are created in 3D" using Overlay or another method? And then installing Assets (in and around) the 3D building......and then output.....using "IDW" files. Is this the right approach? or is this only going to give me 2D reference geom.

Again thanks for your help

Bill

Message 4 of 8
jeff.pek

Hi Bill -

It's on the model side -- on the Factory tab.

It takes care of the details of creating the drawings.

This Publish DWG workflow generates DWG (not IDW). Is that going to be an issue?