Fabrication CADmep
Join the Autodesk Fabrication CADmep community discussions to help share and receive technical product knowledge, insight, tips and tricks.

Fabrication CADmep

Reply
Active Member
cvidovcich
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2014
Message 1 of 9 (656 Views)
Accepted Solution

Button Mapping

656 Views, 8 Replies
04-03-2014 07:06 AM

I've set up the button mapping to work fairly well with both round and rectangular HVAC duct. My problem is the transition between the two. I cannot find the correct combination of buttons to enable a tap (any kind) out of a rectangular duct when using design line. In all situations, design line leaves a gap in the rectangular duct around where the tap should be and then has the perpendicular branch of duct placed inside of this duct (see attached image). Can anyone point me in the right direction to fix this issue? Thanks. 

I don't know what's going on here. I replied once and then my post disappeared after a few minutes. I tried posting again and it just didn't do anything. So I am trying again for the third time... hopefully it works.

 

CID = Custom ID Number

It's just a way of identifying the items.

 

Edit: (added comment that was in original post that disappeared)

In your case the real CID is 345. Someone has overridden it to 1020.

 

 

I tried CID 345 here and it worked fine. So maybe your item just need some default values changed, or maybe it is corrupted.

If you want you can try posting your itm file, or at least a screen shot of the dimensions tab.

I changed the CID to 345 and the taps are now working. I'm not sure where the other number originated. 

 

Thanks a lot for your help.

Contributor c2k
Contributor
c2k
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-02-2007
Message 2 of 9 (599 Views)

Re: Button Mapping

04-14-2014 09:31 AM in reply to: cvidovcich

What have you tried?

 

The following should work:

Button Code = RedILTee

Alternate Codes = Straight, RedInLine, Tap

 

Obviously change the Alternate codes to match your specific codes in use.

 

Active Member
cvidovcich
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2014
Message 3 of 9 (593 Views)

Re: Button Mapping

04-14-2014 09:42 AM in reply to: c2k

I've tried;

 

Straight, RedInLine, Tap

Straight, Tap, RedInLine

Tap, Redinline

Redinline, Tap

straight, redinline, tap, straight

 

 

At this point, I'm leaning towards the taps somehow being corrupted. Perhaps the taps that I am using don't have the necessary connectors that design line requires. Is this a reasonable assumption?

Contributor c2k
Contributor
c2k
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-02-2007
Message 4 of 9 (591 Views)

Re: Button Mapping

04-14-2014 09:50 AM in reply to: cvidovcich
I don't think connectors are an issue, but it is possible that the CID you are trying isn't supported.
What CID(s) for the tap have you tried?
Active Member
cvidovcich
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2014
Message 5 of 9 (590 Views)

Re: Button Mapping

04-14-2014 09:53 AM in reply to: c2k

For the tap I would like to use (Conical spin in) the CID is 1020 (Based on Pattern 345).

 

What exactly is the CID?

Contributor c2k
Contributor
c2k
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-02-2007
Message 6 of 9 (558 Views)

Re: Button Mapping

04-14-2014 10:37 AM in reply to: cvidovcich

I don't know what's going on here. I replied once and then my post disappeared after a few minutes. I tried posting again and it just didn't do anything. So I am trying again for the third time... hopefully it works.

 

CID = Custom ID Number

It's just a way of identifying the items.

 

Edit: (added comment that was in original post that disappeared)

In your case the real CID is 345. Someone has overridden it to 1020.

 

 

I tried CID 345 here and it worked fine. So maybe your item just need some default values changed, or maybe it is corrupted.

If you want you can try posting your itm file, or at least a screen shot of the dimensions tab.

Active Member
cvidovcich
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2014
Message 7 of 9 (558 Views)

Re: Button Mapping

04-14-2014 10:38 AM in reply to: cvidovcich

I changed the CID to 345 and the taps are now working. I'm not sure where the other number originated. 

 

Thanks a lot for your help.

Contributor c2k
Contributor
c2k
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-02-2007
Message 8 of 9 (554 Views)

Re: Button Mapping

04-14-2014 10:39 AM in reply to: cvidovcich
No problem. Glad it's working now.
Active Member
cvidovcich
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2014
Message 9 of 9 (553 Views)

Re: Button Mapping

04-14-2014 10:41 AM in reply to: c2k

I was wondering what happened as well. I received emails saying that you posted, but couldn't find anything on the forum. 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.