General Questions

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Galazios
745 Views, 8 Replies

General Questions

Hallo,

I am currently a student in Aristotle University of THessaloniki (AUTH) and as a part of my thesis I am working on Ecotect Analysis in order to calculate the Thermal/Cooling Loads of a dwelling. So far I have come up to some difficulties and I would like your assistance in order to overcome them.

So let me start:

- I want to make a schedule for HVAC with two different operational timetables. More specifically, I would like to make a table from 00:00 - 7:00 with a Lower Band of Temperature at 16degrees and a second one from 14:00-23:00 with a Lower Band of Temperature at 20degrees. The reason I think is obvious, since during the night we do not need as high internal temperature as during the day. Is there a way to do so?

- Where can I see the total U-Value of the residence?

- While trying to make some adjustments in windows' material, I could not find anything with an objectively low U-value. What I mean; The best possible material is "DoubleGlazed_LowE_TimberFrame" with a U-Value of 2.260 W/m2K  which does not even have a thermal break. I tried to optimize it through the Layers-topic but could not come up to any combination with a U-Value of around 1.5.

- Is there a differentiation between vertical and horizontal structural components or they are both included under the term of "Walls" ?

Thank you for your time reading my post. Looking forward to your reply.

Regards,

Traianos Moutaftsis

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
Pennetier1
in reply to: Galazios

Hello Galazios,