Did you mean: 

Ecotect - Thermal values

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
nielsthuesen
3382 Views, 11 Replies

Ecotect - Thermal values

Hi

I am studying civil engineer and are use one semester to evaluate Ecotect and it results.
I am having problems with the thermal calculations in Ecotect, because the calculated temperature inside the zones becomes too small. If I make a small room with almost 100% window it the sought facade the temperature does not raise to most more than 26 degrees (compared to other calculations the temperature should be around 35-40 degrees)
I have tried to change the Solar Heat Gain Coeff. and other parameters for the window and the wall but still the result is not correct

Anybody that has had the same kind of problem or knows that the problems are? Hope that I can get some help.

Niels
11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
fakeson
in reply to: nielsthuesen

hi

i encountered the very same problem. i had a simulation model set up
with thermal problematic zones (small room, around 12m², facing south,
almost 100% glazing, location kabul afghanistan, no ac) and was stunned because
the temps never exceeded 29°C. seems there's no need for any optimization.

so, to evaluate i created kind of a bungalow, around 16m² total, low mass,
no insulation, huge windows. a worst case scenario for thermal performance.
simulated in several different summerhot locations. got the same results,
operating temps hovering around 1-2 over outside temp, hardly ever exceeding
the comfort zone.

i really wonder how reliable ecotect output is.

when simulating the same scenario in energyplus, the results look much
more believable. temps easily climb up to 35-40°C, just as i expected they
would.

hope we get any answers from the autodesk staff...

cheers,
sebastia
Message 3 of 12
peterlou
in reply to: fakeson

Hi there,

Did you get a confirmation on the validity of the thermal analysis?