Did you mean: 

different surface reflectance, but same lighting result

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
Anonymous
543 Views, 1 Reply

different surface reflectance, but same lighting result

Hi all,

I am quite new to Ecotect, but I;m trying to study how the reflectance factor on the surface outside the room would affect the lighting level in the room, but I dont think they quite show the correct result.

I've done a very basic room with a external surface to test this (picture), but both scenario has the same average lighting result of 115.94 lux.

Ive used ecotect material both poolwater, and exposed ground for this. Thay have significant difference in reflectance factor. 

Wonder if someone can hep me on thispool.jpgeground.jpg. thanks.

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
Pennetier1
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi eujinlim.is, sorry for the late reply... I am going through old unanswered posts...

I suspect you  are using the internal Daylight Factor engine of Ecotect to perform this analysis.

There are some limitations using this method, as the Externally Reflected component (your ground surface) is probably not reaching your analysis grid.

The method sprays "rays" from your grid toward the window and if it "sees" an external object (on a different zone), then that will contribute to your Externally Reflected component.  However, once the ray passes through the window, there are no inter-reflection.  This means that if your grid points cannot see the external object, it will not contribute to the overall daylighting.  If your grid was set toward the ceiling, it would probably be able to see that ground plane.  If you have a vertical object obstructing the window and seen by the grid, such as another building in front of your window, then it would be very obvious that the obstruction's reflectivity contributes to your daylighting.