A question about how is Ecotect Analysis workng

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
archiii
721 Views, 3 Replies

A question about how is Ecotect Analysis workng

Hello everyone,

I am a student of architecture and I am currently writing my master work. One of my main subjects in it is the Ecotect Analaysis, whic I am using to do make some parametric analysis...

I was wondering on whic standards does Ecotect base on? Whic standards are included in it and are calculated in the analysis?

So I am kindly asking you if you can give me any information about it or at least give me ha hint where I can find that information..

thany you

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Pennetier1
in reply to: archiii

Hello Archiii, 

Ecotect offers many different type of calculations; thermal or daylighting are the 2 main ones.

For thermal analyses, Ecotect uses the Admittance method.

For Daylighting, Ecotect uses the BRE Split Flux method.

These are the two "standards" I can quickly think of for Ecotect.  A lot of the other calculations are based on standard methods, such as solar angles etc.

Quite a few methods and formulae used by Ecotect are highly influenced by the work of Steven Szokolay.

Let me know if you have more questions on this topic, otherwise please accept as a solution so that others can benefit from this information.

Cheers,

Olivier A. PENNETIER

SYMPHYSIS

www.symphysis.net

Message 3 of 4
archiii
in reply to: Pennetier1

Thank you for your answer!

There is still one thing I wuld like to know. I am not sure if this statement is correct: "that Ecotect Analysis works based on american standards?"

In comparicon with the program PHPP (Passsiv House Planing Package) - whic was developed in Germany by Passive House Institute...