Community
Maya Dynamics
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya dynamics topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

nHair translate problems...

15 REPLIES 15
SOLVED
Message 1 of 16
bobtype1
2383 Views, 15 Replies

nHair translate problems...

so i am studying the nhair tutorial from digital tutors to add hair to painteffects hair and...

when i got to the section about making the hair move with your geometry i got this problem:

take1.jpg

as you can see the center part of the hair line lines up with with nose in the model

take2.jpg

as you can see when i render the image in ipr the gig line is to the left of the model

take3.jpg

i got this error when trying to use the classic cache

take4.jpg

after parenting the entire hair system to the bone system as you can see the hair system now 

skews to the right of the center line. 

it also skews to the left and right in the render image too. this effect happens with or without a cache, parenting, multiple variations of the file. 

i am thinking i have to start the hair system from the begining all over again...

any suggestions would be helpful.

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
bobtype1
in reply to: bobtype1

derr.. i was pretty tierd when i wrote this it is sopposed to be : attaching Nhair to painteffects "curves"

http://www.digitaltutors.com/tutorial/677-Creating-Hairstyles-with-Maya-Hair

Message 3 of 16
bobtype1

by the by the model is a variation of Daz3d 'laura' skin and custom geometry, re-rigged for maya, the hair was created by lofting curves painted on the

polygons and extracing U curves then attaching nhair system to curves. not sure why the render skews the system when it shows up striaght int he IPR

view, before rendering. the cache is a simple head turn 15 degrees left at 90 frames and back at 120, there are about 50,000 individual hair curves

atacked to about 3,000 curves in the dynamic simulation.