Dynamic Blocks

Dynamic Blocks

Reply
Active Member
DashMonkey
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-31-2009
Message 21 of 196 (1,791 Views)

Re: You gotta try visibility-add-eng-v1.1

01-14-2010 12:16 PM in reply to: *T Bennett

After a whole lot of frustration I've figured out why at some point in the construction of dynamic block, the (visibility_add) and (visibility-up) commands ceased to function. I narrowed it down to whether or not my block contains User Parameters or not.

If I try to execute the (visibility_add) command (for the 2nd time; there is already a VP in my drawing at this point) while a User Parameter exists in my drawing I get:

Command: (visibility_add)
Select point for placing Visibility Set:
** Visibility parameter already exists in block definition. **Unknown command "L". Press F1 for help.
Unknown command "VISIBILITY-1". Press F1 for help.
Command:

If I try to execute the (visibility-up) command while a User Parameter exists in my drawing I get:

Command: (visibility-up)
Select required Visibility Set:
Command:

However, once I remove the User Parameter and execute (visibility-up) on the VP already in my drawing, everything goes back to working as intended.

SUPER frustrating as it denies any possible use of User Parameters in conjunction with visibility-add-eng.
I'm using AutoCAD 2010 and visibility-add-eng-v1.3

-Karsten Loewen

p.s. - If you change ATTIPE to 1 and adjust the linespaceing for a multi-line attribute definition, fields will be converted into text and will no update when you insert the block or even when you test the block. Just FYI.

Valued Contributor
NikolayPoleshchuk
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎06-27-2006
Message 22 of 196 (1,791 Views)

Re: You gotta try visibility-add-eng-v1.1

02-10-2010 09:43 AM in reply to: *T Bennett
Now the reason of your difficulties is clear. In AutoCAD 2010 new properties table somewhat changed the internal structure of dynamic blocks.
So visibiliy-add-eng-v1.4 is published. Please check at http://www.private.peterlink.ru/poleshchuk/cad/2009/tainypod12e.htm
Good luck!

Nikolay Poleshchuk
http://poleshchuk.spb.ru/cad/eng.html
Nikolay Poleshchuk
http://poleshchuk.spb.ru/cad/eng.html
*Dave Jones
Message 23 of 196 (1,791 Views)

Re: You gotta try visibility-add-eng-v1.1

02-10-2010 10:18 AM in reply to: *T Bennett
On 2/10/2010 9:43 AM, NikolayPoleshchuk wrote:
> Now the reason of your difficulties is clear. In AutoCAD 2010 new properties table somewhat changed the internal structure of dynamic blocks.
> So visibiliy-add-eng-v1.4 is published. Please check at http://www.private.peterlink.ru/poleshchuk/cad/2009/tainypod12e.htm
> Good luck!
>
> Nikolay Poleshchuk
> http://poleshchuk.spb.ru/cad/eng.html

The requested document
(http://www.private.peterlink.ru/poleshchuk/cad/Download/visibility-add-eng-v1.4.zip)
does not exist on this server.

??
--
Dave - DDP
Acad and Revit 2010 64 bit
Win 7 Pro
Intel I7-860 @2.8GHz
8GB DDR3 RAM
GeForce GTX260
Valued Contributor
NikolayPoleshchuk
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎06-27-2006
Message 24 of 196 (1,791 Views)

Re: You gotta try visibility-add-eng-v1.1

02-10-2010 09:56 PM in reply to: *T Bennett
Fixed
Nikolay Poleshchuk
http://poleshchuk.spb.ru/cad/eng.html
*Dave Jones
Message 25 of 196 (1,791 Views)

Re: You gotta try visibility-add-eng-v1.1

02-11-2010 08:23 AM in reply to: *T Bennett
On 2/10/2010 9:56 PM, NikolayPoleshchuk wrote:
> Fixed

thanks!
--
Dave - DDP
Acad and Revit 2010 64 bit
Win 7 Pro
Intel I7-860 @2.8GHz
8GB DDR3 RAM
GeForce GTX260
New Member
carlos.matioli
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-22-2010
Message 26 of 196 (1,790 Views)

Re: You gotta try visibility-add-eng-v1.1

03-22-2010 06:17 AM in reply to: *T Bennett
Hi, i really enjoy your lisp, jbut i have a question. Can i make a visibility set desappear at one moment and appear in another? The case is: i chage 1 visibility set in the properties, but all the visibility sets are available to change, and i want to chose the visibility sets that the users will be available to choose according to the visibility set that i chosse. I want this with properties and the grip.

Is that possible?

ps.: sorry about the english, i'm trying to be as clear as possible.

Thanks
Valued Contributor
NikolayPoleshchuk
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎06-27-2006
Message 27 of 196 (1,790 Views)

Re: You gotta try visibility-add-eng-v1.1

04-02-2010 07:02 AM in reply to: *T Bennett
It is possible but only after writing new special programs.
Nikolay Poleshchuk
http://poleshchuk.spb.ru/cad/eng.html
Active Contributor
jmcbride
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-28-2008
Message 28 of 196 (1,685 Views)

Re: You gotta try visibility-add-eng-v1.1

10-18-2010 01:22 PM in reply to: *T Bennett

I have been using with pretty impressive results in 2011.  It has its quirks and I have destroyed a few blocks and crashed a few times, but it does seem to do as promised if you plead with it and whisper in its ear.  I had to make sure EVERYTHING I wanted the block to do was already there and do the multiple visibiliteis at the very last part.  I added all visibilities at one time, then edited them one at a time, saving at every (visibility-up).  The one thing I would BEG for is the ablity to explde the block when you are finished changing parameters and have ALL the visibilties now available as non-block objects.  Right now, If you exlode the block, only the objects in the visibility you have set as "up" are left.  If someone has an idea how to do that it would be sweet!  Again, awsome job to Niko and all involved as this is high end stuff WAY past my knowledge base!  Autodesk will definetly be "rolling this lisp in" at some point as they have said that multiple visibilities is impossible.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 29 of 196 (1,674 Views)

Re: You gotta try visibility-add-eng-v1.1

10-19-2010 04:40 AM in reply to: jmcbride

I'm sure the author would accept cash donations and liscensing rights with royalties to provide the continued support and upgrades to the base program for Autodesk's vast cadre of users.

 

And while your at it make it work in LT also!    ;-)

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Valued Contributor
NikolayPoleshchuk
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎06-27-2006
Message 30 of 196 (1,662 Views)

Re: You gotta try visibility-add-eng-v1.1

10-19-2010 08:12 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Thank you fellows for your kind words!

Nikolay Poleshchuk
http://poleshchuk.spb.ru/cad/eng.html
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.