Did you mean: 

sheet set custom property field in dynamic block

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
jwscad
4887 Views, 11 Replies

sheet set custom property field in dynamic block

I am having trouble getting a field in a multi leader which is part of a block to reference a sheet set custom property. I have fields within mtext in paper space that are not blocked that are referencing correctly but just not in my blocks. Any suggestions? Thanks

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
gjrcmb
in reply to: jwscad

Hi,

From what I can tell, it does not seem that you can use Sheet Set fields in model space, as apparently you are trying to do.  I am not an expert in using Fields and Sheet Set Manager, so correct me if I am wrong.

However, you could perhaps use Custom Drawing Properties (DWGPROPS) and the Document Field category to add the Custom Drawing Properties to your MLeader Mtext entities in your block.  Then use the PROPULATE express command to update drawings where the block would be used or perhaps your drawing template with the Custom Drawing Properties.  

I am new to the PROPULATE command, but seems to do the trick.  See the attached copy of the Propulate Express Tool help file.

I also found the following article to be a good reference.  While the article indicates that Propulate does not work with dynamic blocks, it seems like it works fine with AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012, which is what I am running.

Propulate tutorial for DWG properties
http://blog.jtbworld.com/2010/05/propulate-tutorial-for-dwg-properties.html

Message 3 of 12
jwscad
in reply to: gjrcmb

I created the block in model space but will be using it in paper space. The file I uploaded was purged of everything except for the block which I accidentally left in model space. On my side the block references are still not working properly in paper space.