Dynamic Blocks

Dynamic Blocks

Reply
Valued Mentor
mbuonocore
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎01-27-2006
Message 1 of 5 (303 Views)

Room Tag equal stretch both sides

303 Views, 4 Replies
08-31-2006 12:02 PM
One more quick question. I've wasted all after noon on this and cannot figure it out. See attached.

I have my room tag with attributes on the left. I want to stretch both sides of box equally as the room number changes. I guess I cannot link the box size with text.

I found the block on right in another post. It works just like I want only it has a line.

I tried to duplicate the dynamic parameters and actions but can't get it right. Learning these new features is always a hassle and not straight forward. Many of the "new" features have been around for years in other software packages and are much easier to use. No wonder companies are hesitant to upgrade. You have to send your employees for two weeks of training. Even then they revert back to old ways.

I've been an Autocad user since version 1 in 1982 and still find myself using most of older commands.

Thanks.
*Thomas Dean
Message 2 of 5 (303 Views)

Re: Room Tag equal stretch both sides

08-31-2006 12:31 PM in reply to: mbuonocore
The way to do this is to add a linear parameter aligned to the width of the
box. In the properties of the parameter, set the base location to midpoint.
Finally, add stretch actions to the paramter; one for each side of the box.
See attached for the completed block.

Thomas
Valued Mentor
mbuonocore
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎01-27-2006
Message 3 of 5 (303 Views)

Re: Room Tag equal stretch both sides

08-31-2006 12:40 PM in reply to: mbuonocore
Thanks for quick response and your work.

I noticed the basepoint in another dblock that I found but I didn't know how to set it. I figured that was what I was doing wrong.

Thanks again.
Valued Mentor
mbuonocore
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎01-27-2006
Message 4 of 5 (303 Views)

Re: Room Tag equal stretch both sides

08-31-2006 12:47 PM in reply to: mbuonocore
Thomas,
One more problem. When I insert the dblock, the dynamic functions are not there.

Mike
*Thomas Dean
Message 5 of 5 (303 Views)

Re: Room Tag equal stretch both sides

08-31-2006 01:22 PM in reply to: mbuonocore
I posted the block already inserted into a blank drawing. You will have to
wblock it back out to be able to insert it into other drawings.

Thomas
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.