Dynamic Blocks

Dynamic Blocks

Reply
Active Member
kevinb
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-07-2009
Message 1 of 7 (520 Views)

Multiple items on clipboard in Autocad 2013

520 Views, 6 Replies
11-27-2012 03:26 PM

hi,

is there any way that Autocad can have multiple items placed on the clipboard for insertion use like the Microsoft Office Word programme has (up to 24 inputs). This would be a good feature to allow going to one file, copying what you need and then switching to your current drawing file and placing them as needed

 

regards

kevin brennan

food service design australia

Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 494
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 2 of 7 (504 Views)

Re: Multiple items on clipboard in Autocad 2013

11-28-2012 03:31 AM in reply to: kevinb

Not really sure I understood that question right...

If you mean adding multiple clipboard objects from different drawings and then pasting them into one, no it can't be done.

If you mean copying Multiple objects from one file to another, yes. Basic select, copy and paste.

If you mean that you want to "save" multiple objects in a clipboard and select which ones to paste into a certain drawing then no, there is no such feature in Autocad yet. 

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
Mentor
rapidcad
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 3 of 7 (495 Views)

Re: Multiple items on clipboard in Autocad 2013

11-28-2012 10:47 PM in reply to: kevinb

Hmm, don't know if this will work in AutoCAD 2013, but I think you should look into it. If I recall correctly, this plug-in did exactly what you are asking about. For some reason, I haven't run it in a few years. Maybe it was not updated to run in newer versions, I just don't remember. Have a look. 

 

http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/clipboard_manager/

 

Enjoy, Ron

 

Ronald A. Powell
CAD Developer/Operator
TGW Systems Inc.
Spring Lake, MI
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 4 of 7 (487 Views)

Re: Multiple items on clipboard in Autocad 2013

11-29-2012 04:52 AM in reply to: rapidcad

Being the nervous nelly here:

Item 2.4 in the EULA states that Autodesk can electranically watermark the download and any subsequent drawing it is used on.

 

I'm wondering if this is akin to the Student Version mark or just a background signature.

What did you see when using it prior rapidcad?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Mentor
rapidcad
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 5 of 7 (480 Views)

Re: Multiple items on clipboard in Autocad 2013

11-29-2012 08:01 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Hey Charles, I never saw that in the shrink wrap, but could you immagine the outcry that would cause, and the wet blanket that would throw on anyone ever trying an Autodesk Labs plug-in? I know I used it several years ago and never ran into hte edu-stamp. 

 

I'm sure it is safe. If not, I'm here at AU, I can thump Scott Shepard's head for him! :smileyvery-happy:

Ronald A. Powell
CAD Developer/Operator
TGW Systems Inc.
Spring Lake, MI
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 7 (475 Views)

Re: Multiple items on clipboard in Autocad 2013

11-29-2012 09:31 AM in reply to: rapidcad

It did not read like it would infect all the files that it touched.

More like a big-brother kind of thing but that is expected of beta type programs.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Mentor
rapidcad
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 7 of 7 (471 Views)

Re: Multiple items on clipboard in Autocad 2013

11-29-2012 10:08 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

I went through and installed it on 2013 and 2011, but it only works on 2011 (probably 2012 too). The .net build likely needs updating in order for it to work on 2013.

 

It still works nicely for earlier versions though.

Ronald A. Powell
CAD Developer/Operator
TGW Systems Inc.
Spring Lake, MI
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.