Dynamic Blocks

Dynamic Blocks

Reply
Valued Contributor
kkline116
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 1 of 6 (276 Views)

Flip not Flipping other Flip

276 Views, 5 Replies
12-17-2012 12:12 PM

Hello all,

 

Please take a look at the attached dynamic block.

 

I have two flips in there, one verticle, one horizontal. For some reason, whenever I tell it to flip, and then select everything in the block, it doesn't flip the other flip's arrow.

 

Then, when I created the second arrow, and went back to include the first flip in the second flip's Action Selection Set, it doesn't pick it up. Doesn't matter if I do "modify selection set" or "new selection set"... doesn't matter if I select everything within (blue box) or everything that touches (green box).

 

Yet, when I highlight the icon box, it shows everything is selected.

 

Can flips not flip other flips?

 

Additionally, I want the rotation parameter to flip on the horizontal flip (so it stays outside the block), but I can't get that into the selection either.

 

What am I missing with these selection parameters?

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 6 (262 Views)

Re: Flip not Flipping other Flip

12-17-2012 04:37 PM in reply to: kkline116

I've got a block that does just as you ask but I cannot for the life of me make yours do so.

Nor can I create a new block and have that do so.

 

What version of CAD are you on?

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Valued Mentor
ojuris
Posts: 284
Registered: ‎06-08-2010
Message 3 of 6 (254 Views)

Re: Flip not Flipping other Flip

12-18-2012 03:05 AM in reply to: kkline116

try this

 

Juris

Valued Contributor
kkline116
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 4 of 6 (248 Views)

Re: Flip not Flipping other Flip

12-18-2012 04:57 AM in reply to: ojuris

I'm running 2013 LT.

 

Ojuris got it to work.... what did you do so I know for future?

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 5 of 6 (244 Views)

Re: Flip not Flipping other Flip

12-18-2012 05:11 AM in reply to: ojuris

And what version of CAD are you on ojuris?

 

I did try including the Flip Action in each of the other Flip Action and it still did not do correctly.

This is how the previous block I made does what is asked. Both Flip Parameters are included in each Flip Action and one of the Flip Actions includes the other Flip Action but the same cannot be done the opposite way as this will introduce a circular reference that the BE will not allow to complete.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Valued Mentor
ojuris
Posts: 284
Registered: ‎06-08-2010
Message 6 of 6 (239 Views)

Re: Flip not Flipping other Flip

12-18-2012 05:58 AM in reply to: kkline116

I move flip parameter (line) Flip Horiz  to right and Flip Vert up. Now center of that parameter lines and grip (arrow) is on the same axis - (look at block and You understand).

 

I work on 2012 cad

 

Regards

Juris

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.