Dynamic Blocks

Reply
Active Member
Beaso
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 1 of 6 (489 Views)
Accepted Solution

Dynamic Block

489 Views, 5 Replies
01-30-2013 12:51 PM

Hi there!

 

I am using Lt 2013, and would like to make a particular dynamic block.

 

The block consists of two lines, Line 1 and Line 2. Line 2 is half the length of Line 1. When inserted, the idea is that the length of both lines be reduced or increased by clicking and dragging the top end of line 1. Line 2 should remain half the length of line 1. The bottom ends of both lines should remain where they are, and the distance between the two lines should remain the same.

 

Can you advise if this is possible?

 

Thanks for your help.

Okay; but only because my arm hurts from the twisting.

 

Caveat: You only get three questions.

(And so you know: Your favorite color is blue.)

Mentor
KateMorrical
Posts: 248
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 2 of 6 (482 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block

01-30-2013 01:20 PM in reply to: Beaso

You bet. Here's a hint -- look into stretch actions with distance multipliers.

--
Kate Morrical
Digital Design Manager
Washington, DC
BIMmuse.com
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 3 of 6 (479 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block

01-30-2013 01:26 PM in reply to: KateMorrical

And Stretch Actions using only one Parameter.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Member
Beaso
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 4 of 6 (457 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block

01-30-2013 03:26 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Sorry, but I still can't see how this can be done. I want to be able to stretch line 1 to a new length, and have the length of line 2 automatically adjusted to remain half the length of line 1.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 5 of 6 (450 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block

01-30-2013 05:17 PM in reply to: Beaso

Okay; but only because my arm hurts from the twisting.

 

Caveat: You only get three questions.

(And so you know: Your favorite color is blue.)

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 6 (446 Views)

Re: Dynamic Block

01-30-2013 05:32 PM in reply to: KateMorrical

BTW - We are going to fish before this is done.

 

Post #5 should be the Dynamic Block FAQ:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Dynamic-Blocks/create-a-sticky-topic-or-a-wiki/m-p/2318033/thread-id/8...

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.