Dynamic Blocks

Dynamic Blocks

Reply
Active Member
rww09c
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-24-2012
Message 1 of 5 (342 Views)

Creating a Door and Window

342 Views, 4 Replies
11-24-2012 12:14 PM

Can any one please show me how to make Doors and Windows with AutoCad? I know that we use the W (Write Block) command and the I (Insert) command, but I don't know how to use them. I believe that we have to be able to use the specifications that are giving to us and make the doors and windows.

 

Because I'm new to AutoCad, please make your directions as easy as possible (baby steps), because this is just my 2nd week using this program.  I really can use some help. Thanks for the help, in advance

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 5 (322 Views)

Re: Creating a Door and Window

11-26-2012 05:16 AM in reply to: rww09c

What is your Platform?

Do you have Palettes open (TP from the Command line. FYI - Many time COMMANDS are provided in all CAPS in this Forum)

If you have the Palette open Right Click the Menu bar (of the Palette) and choose Architectural.

This will get you Doors and Windows quickly.

 

For the longer term: Start with a local community class or just keep pounding away.

If you can draw a square in CAD you can draw a window (or door if a rectangle :smileywink:)

WBLOCK is how to get your drawing into another File if need be. There is not need to do this if you just save the file to its own name.

INSERT will allow you to bring this separate drawing into the current drawing where it will now be a Block. (Secret - All Drawing Files are Blocks if they have been INSERTed into another drawing. Big or small it does not matter - Except for XREF's but that's next years lesson.)

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 3 of 5 (318 Views)

Re: Creating a Door and Window

11-26-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: rww09c

It's very hard to "teach" with only text through a forum, I would recommend doing a bit of googling on blocks in general. There are alot of tutorials and tips to fetch, many experienced Autocad users do Cad-Blogs. Checking up on them once in while could provide you with alot of tips and tricks.

 

Blocks (Basic)

http://www.google.se/search?q=autocad+block+tutorial&oq=autocad+block+tutorial&sugexp=chrome,mod=3&s...

 

Dynamic blocks (Advanced)

http://www.google.se/search?q=autocad+dynamic+block+tutorial&oq=autocad+dynamic+block+tutorial&sugex...

 

Good luck and happy cadding

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
Active Member
rww09c
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-24-2012
Message 4 of 5 (290 Views)

Re: Creating a Door and Window

12-04-2012 07:20 PM in reply to: rww09c

Mr. Charles,

 

Sorry for the late reply, as I didn't notice that you wrote a message. I figured out how to make doors and windows. It's pretty easy, but I do have a next question, and I realize I might be in the wrong discussion group. I'm still getting used to navigating in autodesk.

 

The question is: In my class, we use AutoCad LT 2011. Do you know how I can obtain a copy of this version? I have the student version of AutoCad 2011, but it's missing some of the commands that we use in class. It's missing the Double Line command, dragline, etc. I know there are other ways around it. I heard of MultiLine, but I would really like to have what my class is using and not get confused.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 5 of 5 (281 Views)

Re: Creating a Door and Window

12-05-2012 05:24 AM in reply to: rww09c

I'm not sure.

After looking at the Student Community it did not seem to be available. Autodesk is known to "hide" things though.

I posed a question in your LT thread to see if that is available. The 'Desker should respond there though it did not read as though she fully understood your query.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.