Did you mean: 

Bolt with nut

22 REPLIES 22
SOLVED
Message 1 of 23
c-wych
2760 Views, 22 Replies

Bolt with nut

Hi.  So I'm trying to make a dynamic bolt that has a nut on it that can move back and forth but is constrained to the max distance set by the bolt length.  I want one line type between the head of the bolt and a different line type between the end of the bolt and the nut.

Currently if I take my nut past the end of the bolt, the lines are all messed up?

Thoughts?

I'm new to dynamic blocks but liking them.  I hope my wish isn't greater then something possible.

22 REPLIES 22
Message 2 of 23
Charles_Shade
in reply to: c-wych

Wow, that Education Version warning sure takes up a lot of screen real estate.

Post screen shots or PDF's of your drawing file and I'll see what I can do to help.

I do not want to open an Education Vesion created file and risk infecting my drawings.

Paranoid as that may be...

Message 3 of 23
PaulMunford

How about starting the 'Bolt position' parameter from the other end, so that it can't slide past the end of the bolt?

Autodesk Industry Marketing Manager UK D&M
Opinions are my own and may not reflect those of my company.
Linkedin Twitter Instagram Facebook Pinterest

Message 4 of 23
c-wych
in reply to: Charles_Shade

Opening the education drawing won't infect your other files unless you copy from my file  to your own file.

Attached is the pdfs.  The "bolt bad" is what I don't want, I want the bolt to either stop at the end of just float in space without the solid lines showing where the dashed lines should be.

Message 5 of 23
c-wych
in reply to: PaulMunford

Hmmm starting from the other end might work but I want the base point at the head of the bolt.

Message 6 of 23
Charles_Shade

Oh I know that but as I said I am quite paranoid in that regrad and will not open an Education DWG.

Does the Bolt Length Stretch Action include the Nut Position Parameter?

Message 7 of 23
Bob_Zurunkle

What if:

1. Origin point remains the same