Community
Dynamic Blocks Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bent plates with slots... Locating connecting bolt. Help!

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
ericleach
828 Views, 3 Replies

Bent plates with slots... Locating connecting bolt. Help!

I have a block of two bent steel plates that are bolted together.. Everything works just how i need except the "limits" on the connecting bolt assembly. The plates we use are slotted, and depending on the angle of the bend, the range the bolt can be in changes. I can set a distance parameter on one clip or the other, but have no way of linking the two. I have a trig function i could use if you could put one with variables in the min or max of a dimension, or i think i could do it if i could limit a point to stay on a line. I can put a coincident constraint on it, but the point will go past the line infinitely, if that makes sense. Relatively new to these blocks, and self-taught as it is. Any help is appreciated.. My block is attached.

Thanks,

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Charles_Shade
in reply to: ericleach

1. What is the connecting bolt assembly portion?

2. What are the "clips" and where does this spacing need to change?

3. Why the vertical Distance1 & 2 Parameters?

4. What "point" goes infinately past the line?

5. And of all the Parameters that are in this DynBlk the only ones you want to use are the few that have been left to Show in each Vis State?

You know your jargon we do not, lots going on the will be hard to decipher remetely.

Constraints will be helpful and limiting at the same time.

I do not use constraints so cannot guide you here but this does look like you have a great starting point.

Very nice for a self professed newb. BTW - We are all self taught.

Message 3 of 4
ericleach
in reply to: Charles_Shade

I'll try to just answer these in order.