Dynamic Blocks

Dynamic Blocks

Reply
Valued Contributor
kkline116
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 1 of 9 (485 Views)

Attribute in Visibility Parameter

485 Views, 8 Replies
12-17-2012 10:25 AM

Hello all,

 

What I'm trying to do is have a graphic scale with a set list of scales the user can pick from. This was easy using the Visibility Parameter.

 

However, I want to add a "custom" vis state where, once they select this option, the attributed defintion box will pop up and give them the option to input whatever scale they are using.

 

Is there a way to do this?

 

Check out the attached .dwg to see what I've done so far (I just have the attributes on the "custom" vis state).

Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 494
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 2 of 9 (469 Views)

Re: Attribute in Visibility Parameter

12-18-2012 05:52 AM in reply to: kkline116

Could this perhaps be something?, using a Block property table and attributes instead of visiblity states. Allows for customizing scale, also added an attribute for scale.

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
Valued Contributor
kkline116
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 3 of 9 (465 Views)

Re: Attribute in Visibility Parameter

12-18-2012 05:55 AM in reply to: AcadAdamLT

I really appreciate you doing that, but I don't think that's going to work for our purposes.

 

I was hoping that by putting attributes inside the block on the "custom" vis state, that when they selected the "custom" option, the attribute editor box would pop up and they could add any number they wanted.

 

I'm guessing that's not how it works though...

 

Perhaps that's for the best though... I could see some of these guys using a 1"=650' scale. :smileyfrustrated:

Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 494
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 4 of 9 (462 Views)

Re: Attribute in Visibility Parameter

12-18-2012 06:38 AM in reply to: kkline116

Isn't that exactly what you've already done?

Or do you want it to pop-up automatically?

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 494
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 5 of 9 (460 Views)

Re: Attribute in Visibility Parameter

12-18-2012 06:40 AM in reply to: AcadAdamLT

Your own block, attsynched.

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
Valued Contributor
kkline116
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 6 of 9 (455 Views)

Re: Attribute in Visibility Parameter

12-18-2012 06:41 AM in reply to: AcadAdamLT

Yep, except the attribute editor box doesn't pop up when you select "custom".

 

Where the numbers should be, it just goes blank then looks at me... tauntingly.

Valued Contributor
kkline116
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 7 of 9 (454 Views)

Re: Attribute in Visibility Parameter

12-18-2012 06:42 AM in reply to: AcadAdamLT

I didn't know "attsync"... will have to research that.

 

But even still... it just sets the numbers to X and X2... where can they edit those numbers?

Valued Mentor
AcadAdamLT
Posts: 494
Registered: ‎12-14-2010
Message 8 of 9 (452 Views)

Re: Attribute in Visibility Parameter

12-18-2012 06:43 AM in reply to: kkline116

Go to visibility state "Custom" and type Attsync, select block and enter. Then it synchs the attributes with your block and your attributes should show, However you can not get the attribute window to open automatically when you select visibility state, not without some sort of LISP i guess :<

Signature, sincerely... //Adam
AutoCad LT 2014
Give Kudos where credit is due, Mark "accepted as solution" if the post solved your question.
*Pro
Libbya
Posts: 1,211
Registered: ‎05-02-2007
Message 9 of 9 (87 Views)

Re: Attribute in Visibility Parameter

07-30-2014 07:04 PM in reply to: kkline116

"But even still... it just sets the numbers to X and X2... where can they edit those numbers?"

 

When the vis state is set to Custom, just double-click the block and the attribute editor will open.  You can also right-click the block and select 'edit attributes' or select the block and enter the attribute values on the properties palette.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.