Dynamic Blocks

Dynamic Blocks

Reply
Active Contributor
ddepriest
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 1 of 10 (561 Views)
Accepted Solution

array multiple objects sequentally

561 Views, 9 Replies
09-28-2012 07:40 AM

Greetings,

 

It seems like this should be easy but it's not. I have a block with multiple components. I want them to array sequentally as I drag the grip. First one component, then the next, then the next. What I get is all 3 at once when I drag the grip far enough. I tried 3 seperate linear parameters with their grips stacked but that didnt work either. What I have attached is a very simplified version of what I want, but I think once I get the concept it will be easy to elaborate on.

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Dave

is it what you want?

 

Juris

Valued Mentor
ojuris
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎06-08-2010
Message 2 of 10 (555 Views)

Re: array multiple objects sequentally

09-28-2012 08:31 AM in reply to: ddepriest

is it what you want?

 

Juris

Active Contributor
ddepriest
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 3 of 10 (549 Views)

Re: array multiple objects sequentally

09-28-2012 08:36 AM in reply to: ojuris

That is perfect. Thank you very much!

Valued Mentor
ojuris
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎06-08-2010
Message 4 of 10 (547 Views)

Re: array multiple objects sequentally

09-28-2012 08:37 AM in reply to: ddepriest

You`re welcome

Distinguished Contributor
jz4all
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 5 of 10 (472 Views)

Re: array multiple objects sequentally

11-13-2012 01:54 AM in reply to: ojuris

Juris,

I would like to know how did you do it?

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 6 of 10 (463 Views)

Re: array multiple objects sequentally

11-13-2012 05:01 AM in reply to: jz4all

Distance1 is the Parameter that Stretch, Stretch1, and Stretch2 are linked to.

Stretch controls the Distance4 Parameter that is chained to Distance1. Meaning that when Distance1 is activated the Action that is linked to Distance4 will also activate. Tha Arrays are linked to the relevant Parameters and logical distances were assigned. The circle needs to move 800 units to get to its first position, etc...

The rest of the Parameters and Actions are similarly setup.

 

(I just hope Juris had to trial and error this and did not just do it in one shot. I might have to not like that guy anymore if he did. :smileyvery-happy:)

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Contributor
ddepriest
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 7 of 10 (455 Views)

Re: array multiple objects sequentally

11-13-2012 06:32 AM in reply to: ddepriest

As a Post Script here is the block that I was actually working on. It took quite a bit of trial and error, and i still don't understand why the distance parameters have to be set to the lengths that they are.

Valued Mentor
ojuris
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎06-08-2010
Message 8 of 10 (451 Views)

Re: array multiple objects sequentally

11-13-2012 06:48 AM in reply to: ddepriest

may be You can save to 2012 version?

In this moment I can`t have 2013 version

 

Regards

Juris

Active Contributor
ddepriest
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 9 of 10 (449 Views)

Re: array multiple objects sequentally

11-13-2012 06:50 AM in reply to: ojuris

Sure, no problem.

Distinguished Contributor
jz4all
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 10 of 10 (433 Views)

Re: array multiple objects sequentally

11-14-2012 02:57 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Thanks a lot Charles :catvery-happy:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.