DWG TrueView
Welcome to Autodesk’s DWG Trueview Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular DWG Trueview topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

print pieces of a dwg file

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
starkjerry
5712 Views, 10 Replies

print pieces of a dwg file

I have no experience with autocad at all.

I have a .dwg file that contains a wiring schematic for my RV, which the mfg'r was nice enough to send me . My goal is to break the .dwg file up into 9 pieces that I could print and keepi n the RV.

I downloaded Autodesk autocad design suite free trial because it can handle Trueview files. I had loaded the .dwg file with autodesk, but it indicated something about not the Heidi driver cannot load and would use a default software driver. This was the dwgviewr.exe application in autodesk directory.  Using this I am able to open the file and view it. I can zoom in and out. I tried to print it and it shrunk the view to an unreadable blob. The schematic has horizontal section markers A to H and vertical section markers 1 to 10.  The horizonal numbers on the edges of the view go from -146 to 392 while the vertical numbers go from 1203 to 130 (leaving out the decimals). 

The output tab has Plot, Btach Plot, and Preview items which indicates to me that it thinks it is in a plot format?

I looked  up how to set a plot area and tried to set a window to of 264 x 775 in an attempt to create 9 sections which I could print on a printer. This was the one I hoped would be of the upper left corner. I sent it to a file with the extension of .plt(trueview's choice), with hopes of viewing it to see how it would look. I could not find anyway to view it. Autodesk could not find a file that did not have an extension other than .dwg.

Does anyone have any experience in trying to do this?

Any help would be appreciated. I do not know of another way to do this.

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
Charles_Shade