DWG TrueView

DWG TrueView

Reply
New Member
AndrewJordan1248
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-27-2011
Message 1 of 4 (1,565 Views)
Accepted Solution

Imported Page Setups Not Working

1565 Views, 3 Replies
10-27-2011 05:05 AM

Hello!

 

I am desperately trying to make plotting drawings easier for users.  I am a SysAdmin for a small network.  We receive DWG files from many external sources and always have to change the printer, page size, plot area, plot center, plot scale, plot styles and quality settings to get decent readable output.  If only it were as simple as printing a PDF!

 

So I have been investigating the Page Setup > Import functionality in TrueView.  Having created a DWG file containing all the Pagesetup information for all the printers available on the network, I am attempting to import these settings and apply them to any externally provided DWG files on different workstations.  I use the Page Setup > Import option, the browse to my own DWG file (created on a different workstation in AutoCAD) ready to "Import Page Setup From File", which then displays a nice list of all the various setups I have created for all my network printers.  I can then select one of these page setups, click OK and then... Nothing!  

 

I am returned to the Plot dialogue box with <None> defiantly displayed in the Page Setup drop down.  (Checking the drop down list for my selected page setup also reveals nothing.)  It is as though the functionality to "Import Page Setups" is simply disabled, without warning or error.

 

Please can anyone help or explain this behaviour?

 

Many thanks in advance,

 

Andrew

First, are you abiding by this simple rule listed in HELP for DTV:

 

" Note You can import both model space and layout page setups at the same time. However, an imported model space page setup is shown in the Page Setup Manager only if the model tab was current when you opened the Page Setup Manager. Similarly, an imported layout page setup is shown in the Page Setup Manager only if a layout tab was current when you opened the Page Setup Manager."

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,698
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 4 (1,562 Views)

Re: Imported Page Setups Not Working

10-27-2011 05:34 AM in reply to: AndrewJordan1248

First, are you abiding by this simple rule listed in HELP for DTV:

 

" Note You can import both model space and layout page setups at the same time. However, an imported model space page setup is shown in the Page Setup Manager only if the model tab was current when you opened the Page Setup Manager. Similarly, an imported layout page setup is shown in the Page Setup Manager only if a layout tab was current when you opened the Page Setup Manager."

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
AndrewJordan1248
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-27-2011
Message 3 of 4 (1,559 Views)

Re: Imported Page Setups Not Working

10-27-2011 07:25 AM in reply to: AndrewJordan1248

Thanks for the pointer there Dean.  Yep - I should have read the manual...

 

Strangely - in TrueView 2011 it doesn't matter whether you created the Page Setup in the layout or model tab - they seem to appear in either.  2012 seems to be more fussy about it as your post highlights.

 

As the DWGs we receive from external sources are sometimes optimised for model and sometimes layout, depending on the draughtsperson, I am now creating identical Page Setups on our "plot settings.dwg" file for use with both of them...  Now the fun begins - trying to teach non-CAD technicians how to use it!

 

Again thanks for your help.

 

Andrew

New Member
eng.mostafabadri
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-05-2014
Message 4 of 4 (71 Views)

Re: Imported Page Setups Not Working

12-05-2014 10:08 AM in reply to: AndrewJordan1248
My name is Mostafa Badri and I work in the IRANTABLO. CO. I have been drawing AutoCAD software for three years. Our company draw more than 50 pages in one model layout But we always spend a lot of time to print all pages, that is we choose each page one by one and print. I have an idea that will help you to lead AutoCAD software to remove this flaw. I use this idea in the primary step. If you like to have the idea Email me. Eng.mostafabadri@gmail.com this idea will help your AutoCAD software to be popular. With warm regards, Mustafa Badri
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.