DWG TrueView

Reply
Valued Contributor
PRSS
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 1 of 15 (1,246 Views)

Display of Lineweights - Not correct

1246 Views, 14 Replies
02-10-2012 07:30 PM

I am using DWG TrueView 2012. When I open a drawing done in AutoCAD with lineweights assigned and when the diplay of line weights is ON, the lineweights display correct in AutoCAD  (to the lineweight display settings I have set in AutoCAD options). This same drawing when opened in DWG TrueView, the display of lineweights is far thicker than displayed in AutoCAD. Sometimes the drawing becomes un-readable because of excessive thickness displayed.

 

In the DWG TrueView options I do not see any dialog box to control the display of lineweights. I have to set the lineweight to default thickness in all the layers in DWG True View so that the drawing becomes readable. Is there a possibl\ility to control the display of lineweights in DWG TrueView?

 

Eventhough the display of lineweights is execssive in DWG TrueView, but when the drawing is plotted from DWG TrueView, the plotted thickness of lines are correct as set in AutoCAD.

 

Thanks in advance
With best regards

PRSS

Member
marie.jones
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-30-2012
Message 2 of 15 (1,170 Views)

Re: Display of Lineweights - Not correct

03-30-2012 09:59 AM in reply to: PRSS

I am trying to hook up a project manager on my team with our standard plot style table so he can plot drawings with the correct lineweights...where does the plot style table go in the directory structure within Design veiw?

Valued Contributor
PRSS
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 3 of 15 (1,167 Views)

Re: Display of Lineweights - Not correct

03-30-2012 10:08 AM in reply to: marie.jones

It goes here:

C:\Documents and Settings\Admin\Application Data\Autodesk\DWG TrueView 2012\R9\enu\Plotters\Plot styles.

 

My computers still run Windows XP. If you run Windows 7 then the path should be through "user" or something. You will first have to enable "show hidden folders" in the folder options.

 

Hope this helps.

With best regards

PRSS

Member
marie.jones
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-30-2012
Message 4 of 15 (1,156 Views)

Re: Display of Lineweights - Not correct

04-02-2012 08:08 AM in reply to: PRSS

The PM was using DWG tru View 2008...which didn't recognize plot style tables...so no place to place them...I have updated him to 2011 and were all set....except he is probably going to wanna cus me out because he has to learn the new format with ribbon etc....progress!! Gotta love it.

 

Thank you very much for your help!

Valued Contributor
PRSS
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 5 of 15 (1,152 Views)

Re: Display of Lineweights - Not correct

04-02-2012 06:34 PM in reply to: marie.jones

You can change the ribbon style to classic style. I had changed it by experimenting but I have now forgotten how I changed it. You can do some experiment and change.

 

With best regards

PRSS

Member
marie.jones
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-30-2012
Message 6 of 15 (1,147 Views)

Re: Display of Lineweights - Not correct

04-03-2012 05:24 AM in reply to: PRSS

Yes. I think the style is changed at the Panel titles area...thanks good idea...I may be ok. :-)

Contributor
JakeDelgado6031
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-19-2002
Message 7 of 15 (834 Views)

Re: Display of Lineweights - Not correct

04-18-2013 11:54 AM in reply to: PRSS

Has anyone found a solution to this problem?  It seems like there is a bug in the TrueView program that displays lineweights even though they are set not to display in the drawing file when opened with AutoCAD.  There is no setting I can find in TrueView that allows this to be turned off and I have a number of engineers who would like to view the files without the lineweights displayed.  The lines are thick enough that the users cannot see detail clearly even when zoomed in because the lines get thicker as the magnification increases.

Valued Contributor
PRSS
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎09-27-2008
Message 8 of 15 (831 Views)

Re: Display of Lineweights - Not correct

04-18-2013 06:02 PM in reply to: PRSS

I have asked this same question a 100 times in different forums - nobody seems to be interested in even replying to this question. I know all the topics here are watched by Autodek moderators. Even they don't care. 

 

This bug has always been there since version 2010 or even before (as I had not checked before this version) and the bug is carried over through version 2013. Autodesk is not even ashamed after seeing this kind of reports and has not cared to fix the problem.

 

I do understand how irritating this problem is.

 

With best regards

PRSS

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,204
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 9 of 15 (828 Views)

Re: Display of Lineweights - Not correct

04-18-2013 06:29 PM in reply to: PRSS

Not sure it is an issue with the program.

If there is no "fix" ever in the history of the program then it may not be broken.

TrueView is a viewer, really nothing more.

Apparently it does not have the software to change the on screen visual of the file that it is viewing.

And you can always explore Lineweights and TrueView by tapping F1 while in TrueView and reading up on the capabilities or lack there of.

I'm pretty sure there is a wishlist for TrueView that you may want to seek out.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,494
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 15 (819 Views)

Re: Display of Lineweights - Not correct

04-19-2013 07:45 AM in reply to: PRSS

Changing and editing LWEIGHT displays requires the ability to edit the settings: the viewer does not offer the ability except in the LAYER Manager pop-up, assuming that is how you wish to change it. Are you looking for something different?

Go back to the top message in this thread: ability is in AutoCAD (Authoring program), not there in the viewer (the view-only program). Perhaps you need to do more than the viewer offers?

 

 

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.