DWG TrueView

Reply
Member
ranken2014
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-21-2013
Message 1 of 5 (2,656 Views)

Batch Plotting

2656 Views, 4 Replies
06-21-2013 11:49 AM

I am using DWG Trueview 2012 and I have some questions about batch plotting. Sometimes I have to print a few hundred items at a time for customers. I have noticed some items will have errors and may not print due to some errors, but not all. My main issues are I am not sure if I can batch plot to an actual printer...I don't think it works. Batch plotting to a PDF is fine as long as I can fit the items to the page and also choose the proper color management option (monochrome). I need some help writing up some instructions on the best way to Batch Plot from DWG TrueView. Thank you

 

If you have any other useful tips on using DWG TrueView, those would be greatly appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,733
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (2,654 Views)

Re: Batch Plotting

06-21-2013 12:05 PM in reply to: ranken2014
Publish how-to tip:
in the publish dialog box you need to highlight all dwgs
(layouts) you wish to plot and then go back to the top
one while holding down the shift key and select the pagesetup
you wish to use. Any printer driver your Windows system can access.

Problem is the limitation of the viewer is you cannot create templates or content to save. So you need someone else to create this master/top file/layout you need to use.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
ranken2014
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-21-2013
Message 3 of 5 (2,637 Views)

Re: Batch Plotting

06-26-2013 01:40 PM in reply to: pendean

How does one go about creating this master file?

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,733
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 5 (2,629 Views)

Re: Batch Plotting

06-29-2013 10:25 AM in reply to: ranken2014
you cant if you only have the free viewer.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
amurray
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-15-2013
Message 5 of 5 (2,602 Views)

Re: Batch Plotting

07-15-2013 07:47 PM in reply to: ranken2014

In DWG Ttrueview 2010, Batch plotting was quite simple.  You'd set up the page setup either directly or through the Plot dialog.  Save the page setup as a Name e.g. Xerox A1

 

Then when you went to Batch Plot (Publish), you'd add all your drawings, then select all the drawings to be plotted, go to the first one that you did the page setup in and select the page setup name that you created.  This was a temporary page setup only accessible during the session and it wouldn't be saved.

 

There was a limitation on which page setup you could choose.  It had to be the first drawing in the list.  If you had multiple drawings open and the page setup wasn't set up in the first drawing, then you couldn't seem to use it.

 

The next version of DWG Trueview I installed was 2012.  The batch plot no longer worked - you can only choose a page setup that is already saved in the file.  I've had various advice that you just need to create a blank file with all the possible combinations and permutations of the page setup already saved in it.  This is generally impractical as people have different PDF printers, sometimes access to different printers etc.

 

I recently downloaded DWG Trueview 2014 hoping that this bug had been fixed, but it seems to be a feature and still doesn't work.

 

Has anyone had any success using page setups in batch plotting?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.