DWG TrueView

Reply
*Margo Reppert
Message 1 of 12 (293 Views)

Batch Plot

293 Views, 11 Replies
11-28-2006 10:17 AM
Is there a way to batch plot drawing files with True View? One of our guys
wrote something that used Voloview, but it's not compatible with True View.
Thanks.

--
Margo

Margo dot Reppert at aps dot com
*Scott Sheppard \(Autodesk\)
Message 2 of 12 (293 Views)

Re: Batch Plot

11-28-2006 12:46 PM in reply to: *Margo Reppert
John Schmier wrote a batch plot to DWF for AutoCAD 2007 but not DWG
TrueView.

http://dwf.blogs.com/beyond_the_paper/2006/11/batch_publishin.html

I have heard some people claim that DWG TrueConvert might batch plot to DWF,
but I have not tried this myself.

"Margo Reppert" wrote in message
news:5408453@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is there a way to batch plot drawing files with True View? One of our guys
wrote something that used Voloview, but it's not compatible with True View.
Thanks.

--
Margo

Margo dot Reppert at aps dot com
*Margo Reppert
Message 3 of 12 (293 Views)

Re: Batch Plot

12-12-2006 10:28 AM in reply to: *Margo Reppert
Scott,
I was thinking more along the lines of batch plotting dwg files with true
view. Thanks.

--
Margo

Margo dot Reppert at aps dot com

"Scott Sheppard (Autodesk)" wrote in message
news:5408686@discussion.autodesk.com...
John Schmier wrote a batch plot to DWF for AutoCAD 2007 but not DWG
TrueView.

http://dwf.blogs.com/beyond_the_paper/2006/11/batch_publishin.html

I have heard some people claim that DWG TrueConvert might batch plot to DWF,
but I have not tried this myself.

"Margo Reppert" wrote in message
news:5408453@discussion.autodesk.com...
Is there a way to batch plot drawing files with True View? One of our guys
wrote something that used Voloview, but it's not compatible with True View.
Thanks.

--
Margo

Margo dot Reppert at aps dot com
Mentor
SteveChestnut
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎04-20-2004
Message 4 of 12 (293 Views)

Re: Batch Plot

12-21-2006 06:47 AM in reply to: *Margo Reppert
Hello Margot,

You can batch plot by using Publish. Go to File >> Publish.
If you need more info let me know.

Regards,
Steve
*Margo Reppert
Message 5 of 12 (293 Views)

Re: Batch Plot

12-22-2006 10:24 AM in reply to: *Margo Reppert
From within TrueView?

--
Margo

Margo dot Reppert at aps dot com

wrote in message news:5432764@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hello Margot,

You can batch plot by using Publish. Go to File >> Publish.
If you need more info let me know.

Regards,
Steve
Mentor
SteveChestnut
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎04-20-2004
Message 6 of 12 (293 Views)

Re: Batch Plot

12-22-2006 10:50 AM in reply to: *Margo Reppert
Yes Margot it's true there is a Publish in DWG TrueView.
If you have no drawing open you won't see it.
Have a drawing open. Select File >> Publish.
Works like publish in full ACAD.

Regards,
Steve

P.S. Scott, If you're reading this...Publish is a feature that your customers really dislike in DWG TrueView so it's ok for you to leave it in. (heh heh heh) I'll never admit to liking it or thinking it was nice for Autodesk to put this feature in there.
With that... back to the eggnog.
Bye Steve Message was edited by: Steve Chestnut
*Margo Reppert
Message 7 of 12 (293 Views)

Re: Batch Plot

12-26-2006 10:34 AM in reply to: *Margo Reppert
Thanks, Steve. I'll pass that information along.

--
Margo

Margo dot Reppert at aps dot com

wrote in message news:5434345@discussion.autodesk.com...
Yes Margot it's true there is a Publish in DWG TrueView.
If you have no drawing open you won't see it.
Have a drawing open. Select File >> Publish.
Works like publish in full ACAD.

Regards,
Steve

P.S. Scott, If you're reading this...Publish is a feature that your
customers really dislike in DWG TrueView so it's ok for you to leave it in.
(heh heh heh) I'll never admit to liking it or thinking it was nice for
Autodesk to put this feature in there.
With that... back to the eggnog.
Bye Steve

Message was edited by: Steve Chestnut
*Margo Reppert
Message 8 of 12 (293 Views)

Re: Batch Plot

12-27-2006 10:34 AM in reply to: *Margo Reppert
I took a look at TrueView's publish command. The problem I see is lots of
people print these files, so the last used printer might not be the printer
that the guy using publish wants to print them to. I'm wondering how hard it
would be to generate a .dsd file that tells the publish command which
printer to send all the files to. Hopefully our programmer can figure it
out. Apparently it was really easy to program something that would send a
group of dwg files to Voloview for printing.

--
Margo

Margo dot Reppert at aps dot com

wrote in message news:5434345@discussion.autodesk.com...
Yes Margot it's true there is a Publish in DWG TrueView.
If you have no drawing open you won't see it.
Have a drawing open. Select File >> Publish.
Works like publish in full ACAD.

Regards,
Steve

P.S. Scott, If you're reading this...Publish is a feature that your
customers really dislike in DWG TrueView so it's ok for you to leave it in.
(heh heh heh) I'll never admit to liking it or thinking it was nice for
Autodesk to put this feature in there.
With that... back to the eggnog.
Bye Steve

Message was edited by: Steve Chestnut
Mentor
SteveChestnut
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎04-20-2004
Message 9 of 12 (293 Views)

Re: Batch Plot

01-02-2007 05:12 AM in reply to: *Margo Reppert
Hello Margot,

In TrueView publish you can select a list of drawings to plot and then apply a page setup to the entire list. Experiment with the publish command. There's also good info in the Help on publish.

Good luck,
Steve
*Scott Sheppard \(Autodesk\)
Message 10 of 12 (293 Views)

Re: Batch Plot

01-02-2007 06:40 AM in reply to: *Margo Reppert
These two articles are DWF-related but they do show info on the PUBLISH
command.

http://dwf.blogs.com/beyond_the_paper/2006/03/ggg.html

http://dwf.blogs.com/beyond_the_paper/2006/03/generating_a_bl.html

wrote in message news:5438574@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hello Margot,

In TrueView publish you can select a list of drawings to plot and then apply
a page setup to the entire list. Experiment with the publish command.
There's also good info in the Help on publish.

Good luck,
Steve
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.