Drafting Techniques

Drafting Techniques

Mentor
MKH-VB
Message 1 of 6 (323 Views)

Office wanting to move to 3D design....whats next

323 Views, 5 Replies
05-17-2011 02:57 PM

Greetings.....our office is looking to move towards 3d plant design.  What software is the most used/popular for doing water/wastewater treatment plants?  (autocad based) I'm so new at 3d, I'm not sure where to start.  Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

mkh
Valued Mentor
KLYPHY
Message 2 of 6 (278 Views)

Re: Office wanting to move to 3D design....whats next

05-25-2011 07:11 AM in reply to: MKH-VB

I'm surprised you've had no responses. I'm an architect, but the communication between consultants is similar.

The 3-D program we've used is actually a Building Information Management (BIM) program by AutoDESK called REVIT. The concept is great, that the different engineers, consultants, architects all work on the same 3-D model. In reality, it's difficult.  Many decisions can be made in 2-D, but at the same time, many 3-D problems in the building can be missed in just 2-D. Again, it's great if you can get eveyone involved.

The test for came when we did 2 High Schools. Each had 10 acres of air conditioned floor space. That's right, these were large schools on 135 acres lots. One we & our consultants did in AutoCAD; the other we all did in REVIT. The two schools were almost identical in Floor Plans and Site limitations. Both for the same School District. So, we could compare the costs or profits using each program.

Now. we do all of our work on in AutoCAD.

Read Ya Later -KLYPH

Mentor
MKH-VB
Message 3 of 6 (276 Views)

05-25-2011 07:20 AM in reply to: KLYPHY

so are you saying that you ditched 3d, for drawing in 2d autocad? Thanks.

mkh
Valued Mentor
KLYPHY
Message 4 of 6 (272 Views)

05-25-2011 07:31 AM in reply to: MKH-VB

Yes, we went back to 2-D drafing. It was too expensive in 3-D.

BUT, 3-D is the thing of the future.

Currently, much Federal Government work must be done in 3-D.