Drafting Techniques

Drafting Techniques

Reply
Active Member
acoghill
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-07-2009
Message 1 of 7 (387 Views)

how to?? complex linetype

387 Views, 6 Replies
07-17-2012 11:47 PM

Hi, need to create a linetype that at a specified interval (1.0), a specified shape (filled circle) with a specified size (0.15) is placed. I have found several forums etc but the explanaiations are difficult to understand. All this in metric units.

 

I have tried to use a simple dots linetype and while that works the colour used & required keeps fading out.

 

many thanks

Aaron

Valued Contributor
gil.dalton
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎05-13-2008
Message 2 of 7 (366 Views)

Re: how to?? complex linetype

07-25-2012 02:23 AM in reply to: acoghill

You will be limited by the circle shape so it might be best to keep it simple; I would use a simple line then use concentric circles to fill create the filled shape. This approach is obviously dependent on the lineweight but you could tweak the size of the circles to make sure your filled circle was the correct size, or as near as possible, when plotted. 

 

*DashCircle,Dash Circle ----O----O----
A,0.5,[CIRC1,ltypeshp.shx,s=0.075,r=0,x=-0.075,y=0],0,[CIRC1,ltypeshp.shx,s=0.0375,r=0,x=-0.0375,y=0],0.5

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,225
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 3 of 7 (356 Views)

Re: how to?? complex linetype

07-25-2012 10:37 AM in reply to: acoghill

Given the specificity of size, you might want to explore the MEASURE command, and not limit yourself to linetype definitions as the answer.  advantages either way, so it's up to you.

Active Member
acoghill
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-07-2009
Message 4 of 7 (351 Views)

Re: how to?? complex linetype

07-26-2012 12:01 AM in reply to: JGerth
Thank you to those whom have provided comment. To give some clarity to my question, I work as an airport designer. One of the regulated line marking patterns is a series of filled dots 0.15m diameter & spaced at 1.0m intervals. A linetype to achieve this would be great especially curved lines. Aaron Coghill This email has been scanned for viruses and content by Microsoft FOPE.
Valued Contributor
gil.dalton
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎05-13-2008
Message 5 of 7 (349 Views)

Re: how to?? complex linetype

07-26-2012 01:52 AM in reply to: acoghill

Could you point me in the direction of a document and reference so I can have a look at exactly what you need? I am a highway designer in the UK so I have plently experience creating linetypes and dynamic blocks to reflect the diagrams in The Traffic Signs Regulations and General Directions.

 

Because of the way AutoCAD does line types you will undoubtedly have to make some accommodation for that. When working with my linetypes I have to adjust the length of the polyline to get them to display properly; for a line marking made up of a 4m line and a 2m gap the length would have to be 4,10,16 or 22m and so on. It requires a little extra work but it the effort is worth it.

Active Member
acoghill
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-07-2009
Message 6 of 7 (331 Views)

Re: how to?? complex linetype

07-30-2012 06:58 PM in reply to: gil.dalton

Gil,

love your linetype. One question. How do you alter the code to remove the solid line so only the dots are visible?

 

*DashCircle,Dash Circle ----O----O----

A,0.5,[CIRC1,ltypeshp.shx,s=0.075,r=0,x=-0.075,y=0],0,[CIRC1,ltypeshp.shx,s=0.0375,r=0,x=-0.0375,y=0],0.5

Valued Contributor
gil.dalton
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎05-13-2008
Message 7 of 7 (326 Views)

Re: how to?? complex linetype

07-31-2012 02:22 AM in reply to: acoghill

Aaron,

 

I knew you were going to ask that and the answer is not easily. AutoCAD's linetypes are based on the principle that lines will always start and end with a dash or dot so you can't simply change the dashes to gaps.

 

The best I could come with was:

 

*FilledCircle,Filled Circle O    O    O
A,0,[CIRC1,ltypeshp.shx,s=0.075,r=0,x=-0.075,y=0],0.0375,[CIRC1,ltypeshp.shx,s=0.0375,r=0,x=-0.075,y=0],-0.925

 

This gives you the circles without the dashes however as previously mentioned because AutoCAD linetypes must finish with a dot or dash so any lines drawn with this linetype will end with a gap and a dot.

 

The online documentation contains some good information on custom linetypes, it would be worth a read through so you can understand the linetype definition and then tweak it as required.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.