Drafting Techniques

Drafting Techniques

Reply
Member
emcgroup
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 1 of 14 (13,580 Views)

Hatch spacing too dense, or dash size too small.

13580 Views, 13 Replies
04-11-2005 11:56 AM
I have been trying to figure out how to get around the error message "Hatch spacing too dense" which occurs most of the time now when trying to use the "Dots" pattern. Hatching with similiar patterns also get the same problem. Even if I use the Solid hatch and then try to match properties, it still does not work. Hatching used to work fine in much earlier versions of AutoCAD, but not recently. Any ideas?
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 14 (13,579 Views)

Re: Hatch spacing too dense, or dash size too small.

04-11-2005 12:04 PM in reply to: emcgroup
Look up MaxHatch in help in AutoCAD.


--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
Member
emcgroup
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 3 of 14 (13,578 Views)

Re: Hatch spacing too dense, or dash size too small.

04-11-2005 12:23 PM in reply to: emcgroup
MaxHatch shows up in the Help search, but the command and variable do not work when trying to use it in any way, including doing it exactly like the Help search says. It certainly would be the correct way to solve my problem, but if it doesn't work, then what? I am using LDD 2004.

Thanks for your help - any other suggestions?
*doug k
Message 4 of 14 (13,578 Views)

Re: Hatch spacing too dense, or dash size too small.

04-11-2005 12:38 PM in reply to: emcgroup
its case sensitive, are you certain you typed it exactly as shown?


wrote in message news:4811287@discussion.autodesk.com...
> MaxHatch shows up in the Help search, but the command and variable do not
> work when trying to use it in any way, including doing it exactly like the
> Help search says. It certainly would be the correct way to solve my
> problem, but if it doesn't work, then what? I am using LDD 2004.
>
> Thanks for your help - any other suggestions?
Member
emcgroup
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 5 of 14 (13,578 Views)

Re: Hatch spacing too dense, or dash size too small.

04-11-2005 12:50 PM in reply to: emcgroup
Yes I have. As per the Help info I have tried many different ways to do the following:

>>>>If you create a very dense hatch, AutoCAD may reject the hatch and display a message indicating that the hatch scale is too small or its dash length too short. You can change the maximum number of hatch lines by setting the MaxHatch system registry variable using (setenv MaxHatch n) where n is a number between 100 and 10000000 (ten million).

Note When changing the value of MaxHatch, you must enter MaxHatch with the capitalization as shown.<<<<<<

But every attempt gets a "Unknown command" Is there something I'm missing here? I have been using AutoCAD since 1988 and never heard of or used MaxHatch

It also says "You can change the maximum number of hatch lines by setting the MaxHatch system registry variable using SETENV." Setenv, again gets a "Unknown command" Message was edited by: emcgroup
*doug k
Message 6 of 14 (13,578 Views)

Re: Hatch spacing too dense, or dash size too small.

04-11-2005 12:58 PM in reply to: emcgroup
type this exactly:


(setenv "MaxHatch" "10000")


wrote in message news:4811330@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Yes I have. As per the Help info I have tried many different ways to do
> the following:
>
>>>>>If you create a very dense hatch, AutoCAD may reject the hatch and
>>>>>display a message indicating that the hatch scale is too small or its
>>>>>dash length too short. You can change the maximum number of hatch lines
>>>>>by setting the MaxHatch system registry variable using (setenv MaxHatch
>>>>>n) where n is a number between 100 and 10000000 (ten million).
>
> Note When changing the value of MaxHatch, you must enter MaxHatch with
> the capitalization as shown.<<<<<<
>
> But every attempt gets a "Unknown command" Is there something I'm missing
> here? I have been using AutoCAD since 1988 and never heard of or used
> MaxHatch
>
> It also says "You can change the maximum number of hatch lines by setting
> the MaxHatch system registry variable using SETENV." Setenv, again gets a
> "Unknown command"
>
> Message was edited by: emcgroup
Member
emcgroup
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 7 of 14 (13,578 Views)

Re: Hatch spacing too dense, or dash size too small.

04-11-2005 01:23 PM in reply to: emcgroup
Thanks Doug - I was not using the brackets at each end. Works perfect now.

PROBLEM SOLVED - THANKS!!!
*Tracy Lincoln
Message 8 of 14 (13,578 Views)

Re: Hatch spacing too dense, or dash size too small.

04-12-2005 04:53 AM in reply to: emcgroup
(parenthesis)
--
Tracy W. Lincoln - TLConsulting
http://TLConsulting.blogspot.com/
Consulting, Design & Training Specialist
Autodesk Discussion Group Facilitator


wrote in message news:4811370@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Thanks Doug - I was not using the brackets at each end. Works perfect now.
>
> PROBLEM SOLVED - THANKS!!!
Valued Contributor
furniturebldr
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 9 of 14 (13,578 Views)

Re: Hatch spacing too dense, or dash size too small.

09-14-2007 07:28 AM in reply to: emcgroup
Excuse my ignorance, but if you could help me I'd really appreciate it. It's regarding this post you replied to:
http://discussion.autodesk.com/thread.jspa?threadID=396657

I have a similar problem with my hatching. We were using the trial version of 2008, but decided to go back to using 2006. I just started with this company and haven't used their 2006 before. I had to load it onto the new computer.

When I try to hatch with ARSAND in a smaller scale so the hatching shows up more, it gives me the same errors of it being too dense, etc. I really didn't understand the whole maxhatch thing and tried to read about it in the help files, but don't quite understand it.

I don't know where to find the max hatch registry and what I need to change it to.

Thanks

Please e-mail me at creativecustom@sbcglobal.net

Mike
Distinguished Contributor
twlincoln
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 10 of 14 (13,578 Views)

Re: Hatch spacing too dense, or dash size too small.

09-15-2007 10:21 PM in reply to: emcgroup
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/item?siteID=123112&id=2894723&linkID=9240617

--
Tracy Lincoln - Autodesk Discussion Group Facilitator
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.