Drafting Techniques

Drafting Techniques

jfelder
Message 1 of 9 (4,706 Views)

Converting TEXT to PLINE - TXTEXP problems

4706 Views, 8 Replies
05-14-2011 07:22 PM

Hi all,

I have a large amount of text on a 2D design I am working on. It was created using the TEXT command and I would like to convert all of it to PLINE's. I am trying to use the TXTEXP command that is part of the "express tools", but after selecting and converting all the text using the comman, it get a message saying:

"text object(s) have been exploded to lines.The line objects have been placed on layer 0."

However, layer 0 is empty and the text (though it should be PLINES now) is nowhere to be found. I have seen some lisp routines written on other forums suggesting the modification of TXTEXP.lisp to prompt the user for the layer on which to place the newly converted text. However, none seemed to have been successful, and I have zero experience with lisp coding.

Does anyone know why it all dissappears and how I can fix it?

Thanks in advance for your help!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Message 2 of 9 (4,690 Views)

Re: Converting TEXT to PLINE - TXTEXP problems

05-16-2011 07:09 AM in reply to: jfelder

Works fine here: what font, and what STYLE settings are being used?

Your AutoCAD version?

Can you post a DWG file too?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
PatilAbhijitS
Message 3 of 9 (4,396 Views)

12-08-2011 06:52 AM in reply to: jfelder

Sometime the txtexp resizes the txt and sets in different position. Check for the other location of the dwg file. It might show in Very small form.

This is machine dependent problem and not the font problem. May be there is some settings issues..

Best Luck...

grandhougday
Message 4 of 9 (4,298 Views)

01-26-2012 02:45 AM in reply to: jfelder

I really don't know why Autodesk do not answer unsolved questions. does anybody there visit these posts? :smileymad:

By the way this WAS my problem too and takes many times from me to be solved.