Drafting Techniques

Drafting Techniques

Reply
Contributor
ukforurunni
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎07-31-2009
Message 1 of 11 (419 Views)

best workspace for Autocad

419 Views, 10 Replies
09-28-2009 09:41 AM
Dear friends,

i guess it's better to work in auto cad classic workspace i don't really understand what are the advantages of new cad 2010 workspace
please share the advantages of new workspace
*R.K. McSwain
Message 2 of 11 (419 Views)

Re: best workspace for Autocad

09-28-2009 11:40 AM in reply to: ukforurunni
wrote in message news:6262034@discussion.autodesk.com...
> i guess it's better to work in auto cad classic workspace i don't really
> understand what are the advantages of new cad 2010 workspace
> please share the advantages of new workspace

The best workspace is the one that contains all the tools you use/need the
most.
Even if this means creating your own custom workspace.


--
R.K. McSwain
http://cadpanacea.com
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 3 of 11 (419 Views)

Re: best workspace for Autocad

09-29-2009 07:31 AM in reply to: ukforurunni
I assume you are referring to the ribbon, which comes as quite a shock for anyone upgrading from 2008 or older. Their default settings eliminate the menu from across the top, and make it difficult for someone to adjust "on the fly" and still stay productive...
I have recommended in the past, that the user revert to the "classic" style and make use of the toolbars they are used to using -- but to also keep the ribbon (collapsed) and try to learn it in their spare time, because it's here to stay...
I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
*Tim Decker
Message 4 of 11 (419 Views)

Re: best workspace for Autocad

09-29-2009 01:22 PM in reply to: ukforurunni
For the first full year of the ribbon, I had all of our users use it as the
default interface, just to get used to it. After a year we found that
productivity was much worse than with standard toolbars, and was absolutely
horrible compared to keyboard entry. We have since abandoned it, and
reverted to the classic interface. I can see how the robbon might be useful
for a beginner, especially being context sensitive now, but for experienced
users it is just too clunky and takes up too much room. The only way to
reclaim that screen real-estate is to use the minimize options, but then you
have to wait for it to expand to use it, all in all, bad.

wrote in message news:6262566@discussion.autodesk.com...
I assume you are referring to the ribbon, which comes as quite a shock for
anyone upgrading from 2008 or older. Their default settings eliminate the
menu from across the top, and make it difficult for someone to adjust "on
the fly" and still stay productive...
I have recommended in the past, that the user revert to the "classic" style
and make use of the toolbars they are used to using -- but to also keep the
ribbon (collapsed) and try to learn it in their spare time, because it's
here to stay...
*Dean Saadallah
Message 5 of 11 (419 Views)

Re: best workspace for Autocad

09-30-2009 04:44 AM in reply to: ukforurunni
>>>...and was absolutely horrible compared to keyboard entry...<<<
Who's idea was it to give up keyboard entry usage?

>>>...The only way to reclaim that screen real-estate is to use the minimize
>>>options...<<<
17" or 19" screens? I'm not a fan of the ribbon either, but it's not that
bad with decent hardware.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 6 of 11 (419 Views)

Re: best workspace for Autocad

09-30-2009 06:32 AM in reply to: ukforurunni
I must admit, I still mostly leave my ribbon minimized, and use it mostly for copy/paste, while keeping the menu pulldowns on the top, 5 palettes on the right, and a series of flyouts on the left (grouped to mimic what the ribbon was trying to achieve). And above all, the best thing I ever did for myself was to learn a lot of the command aliases to type with my left hand, while mousing with my right hand.

I "get" what they are trying to do with the ribbon, but I think for me the biggest drawback is that two things aren't constantly available no matter what tab or sub-tab is selected, and that's the layer control and the pan/zoom options. Hey! Mebbe I'll put them on a toolbar and try using the ribbons that way.... :-)
I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 28,221
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 11 (419 Views)

Re: best workspace for Autocad

10-01-2009 11:44 AM in reply to: ukforurunni
The advantage of using the Ribbon interface is you will not use it because you can't find commands and will relearn the command line keystrokes that you haven't used for years. (at least that was my experience)
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Igor Mironenko
Message 8 of 11 (419 Views)

Re: best workspace for Autocad

10-01-2009 05:41 PM in reply to: ukforurunni
Excuse my ignorance but I couldn't make any sense out of the post of yours.
What is the advantage of using the Ribbon interface again?

--
Web: www.meqc.com.au
www.boatworks.meqc.com.au
wrote in message news:6264449@discussion.autodesk.com...
The advantage of using the Ribbon interface is you will not use it because
you can't find commands and will relearn the command line keystrokes that
you haven't used for years. (at least that was my experience)
Mentor
neaton
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 9 of 11 (419 Views)

Re: best workspace for Autocad

10-02-2009 06:31 AM in reply to: ukforurunni
Frustration with not being able to find commands on the Ribbon causes you to use the keyboard shortcut so you can get some work done.
I learned quite a few new ones and changed some others using ALIASEDIT.

Now that we have installed 2010 I need to use the Ribbon for awhile so that I can learn what the new commands are. Once I learn them I will find out if they are on the toolbars (some aren't) and create keyboard shortcuts and/or add to my toolbars the ones I use a lot.

Tim, I'm impressed you gave the Ribbon a year to learn; I gave up after a month.

Nancy

> {quote:title=Guest wrote:}{quote}
> Excuse my ignorance but I couldn't make any sense out of the post of yours.
> What is the advantage of using the Ribbon interface again?
>
> --
> Web: www.meqc.com.au
> www.boatworks.meqc.com.au
> wrote in message news:6264449@discussion.autodesk.com...
> The advantage of using the Ribbon interface is you will not use it because
> you can't find commands and will relearn the command line keystrokes that
> you haven't used for years. (at least that was my experience)
Contributor
dunconius
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
Message 10 of 11 (419 Views)

Re: best workspace for Autocad

10-06-2009 09:41 PM in reply to: ukforurunni
When i first saw the ribbon i also hated it. But then i decided that if they bothered to put it in it was probably to make my life easier. I never really learnt the keyboard shortcuts for commands so i can't say if it's any more efficient than that.

To really get the ribbon to work at its best i found i had to customize it quite drastically. Certain commands/functions that I personally use quite a lot where not the main buttons on the tabs, while other functions that i never use were. I kept the categories that the ribbon gives for each panel (draw, modify etc) but rearranged the buttons so that my most commonly used ones appeard on the top and others appeared in the drop down. By rearranging the buttons i also managed to save a lot of space. Many of the original tabs had long rows of buttons or drop down boxes that took up too much room.

Getting the hang of the customization was a bit tricky and CAD often struggled to not crash while i was doing it, but once i did it it made my work much easier.

Now i find that i actually fit a lot more useful buttons on the screen than i did with the classic layout, because half of them are in the drop downs, rather than me having long toolbars with only a few frequently used buttons on them. I know that the classic toolbars are also customizable but i find the ribbon concept a much more logical way to organize commands.

Attached is an image of how i set up my ribbon. It works really well for me.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.