Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Another Newbie Center-Alignment Question

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
jdsilver
2079 Views, 8 Replies

Another Newbie Center-Alignment Question

Hello. I'm brand new to Fusion. I'm used to drawing shapes in Adobe products and cetering them using some pre-set alignment buttons. I can't seem to do the same in Fusion 360 when sketching.

I am trying to draw a trapezoid and center it to a circle. I do not know the angles of the trapezoid, but I do know the lengths of each of the horizontal lines. I also want these lines to be on the same center line as the circle. Is there a way to do this?

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 3.55.32 PM.png

I've tried constraints. I've tried the construct line (which I found in another post). I just can't get it to work the way I want/ I can't even get the shape to be a proper trapezoid without it flailing around. This is such a simple task, yet I'm a confused newb. Thank you in advance!

Autobots. Yeah!
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
TrippyLighting
in reply to: jdsilver

You should really watch some of the video tutorials in the learning section because they cover how to sketch with Fusion 360 and how to work with constraints. Of course they do not exactly cover how to tackle your particular problem, but after watching the tutorials you have the necessary basics so we can have a more productive conversation. 

Peter Doering
Message 3 of 9
jdsilver

Thanks, yes. I've watched about 7 videos already. And like you've said, none of them really cover my question.
Autobots. Yeah!
Message 4 of 9
davebYYPCU

I had a quick fiddle with your sketch as presented, there are about 3 solutions depending on your desired end result,