Community
Mudbox Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Mudbox Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Mudbox topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple textures on a single mesh?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
sbihlmaier
890 Views, 4 Replies

Multiple textures on a single mesh?

Hi, I'm new to Mudbox, and am really hoping it can do what I need it to! I'm trying to fix seams on a single mesh character that has multiple texture maps. (i.e., head, torso, limbs). I'm having issues with doing it in Mudbox, but I think there must be some way to work around this. I know I could probably shrink individual uvs to occupy different quadrants in the 1,1 uv space, and then bring all my maps in to a single larger map to match up. But I'm currently having problems with my uv editor, so that's not working out.

I do have a version of the obj, with each differently materialed uv laid out along the U axis, in separate quadrants (so the face would occupy (1,1), the torso would occupy (2,1), and limbs (3,1). So none of the uv's overlap in this version, which I thought might be the issue. But when I bring in the mesh, the entire mesh shares one material. I've read some references to using naming conventions in a way that might help me around this? (like using the uv coordinates in the name of the texture or something?) But I'm not clear on how that might work.

Anyway, I would SO appreciate any help you could offer! Thank you!

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
paul.kind
in reply to: sbihlmaier