Community
Mudbox Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Mudbox Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Mudbox topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I fix a mesh that is crashing Mudbox?

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
rwilliams23
2337 Views, 7 Replies

How do I fix a mesh that is crashing Mudbox?

Hi!
My name is Ric--I'm a Mudbox student hoping someone can help me find and fix a mesh problem. Mudbox is consistently crashing when I go to Level 7 (4 million polygons) on my current model (attached). I can access levels 0 through 6 without problem.

At first, I wasn't sure what was causing the crashes and made various incremental saves as I worked. Mudbox began crashing as I was doing simple sculpting with the Wax brush--but the crashes were intermittent--I couldn't see a pattern. I updated all my device drivers and am using Mudbox 2015, Service Pack 1 with Windows 7 64-bit 8Gb RAM.

Eventually, I saw that Mudbox consistently crashed when I PageUped from Level 6 to 7 (though the crashes began before I created Level 7). Sometimes an incremental save will open, but often it hangs on opening with the message on the status line: "Calculating normals.... 61%). The problem has only been occurring on this particular mesh.

My questions are how to: 1) find and fix the problem and 2) transfer my Level 7 detail to a fixed mesh? I don't know if the problem began as a file corruption that got passed on with subsequent saves, or is endemic to a problem with topology or UVs. The project started as a simple base mesh created in Maya and UVs created in Headus UVLayout.

Can someone help me root out the problem?

Thanks much!
Ric

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Daf
Advisor
in reply to: rwilliams23

Hi,

8GB is not much ram - not sure if that is your issue or not but I just created a basic head and took it to 7 subs and checked my ram usage. It was at 8.75GB. Check yours at 6 subs and see where you are.

3DS Max 2020.3