Community
Mudbox Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Mudbox Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Mudbox topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

another projection problem

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
Anonymous
482 Views, 13 Replies

another projection problem

Hi
I'm still very new to this stuff.
I've modelled a head in 3ds MAX, struggled for days to UV map it,
Its importing into mudbox saying there are t shapes, and non manifold and an interior valance problems, none of which I completely understand, but thought may have been caused by the symmetry modifier in MAX, and I htought i solved once.
I only want to use mudbox to paint a texture map, nothing else.
Mudbox ISN'T complaining about UV tiles, but whenever I try to paint/project a stencil over the mesh, the stencil doesn't show up clearly, its as if I've used a dirty brush.
any ideas what's going on and or how to solve this please.
Steve

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
Brock_Lafond
in reply to: Anonymous

There definitely appears to be some symmetry issues, and probably some UV issues as well. On your Symmetry modifier check to make sure that your weld threshold isn't too high, but just high enough.

In Max throw a STL Check modifier on top of the stack. It will point out problems.

Can you upload the scene or obj of the model? If not, can you give us a screen-grab of the wireframe?
Alias/Wavefront Maya 3 -> Discreet 3DS Max 4 -> ...
Win7 Pro 64
EVGA Classified Super Record 2
Dual Xeon Hexa-Core, 48GB RAM
GTX 780 x 2
Corona Renderer, mental Ray
Message 3 of 14
Anonymous

Ive put STL check on, I didnt see any change (just checking what it does) heres a wire frame.
The colours seem to come out REALLY dark when I use mudbox aswell, any ideas why is it a gamma problem?
steve

Message 4 of 14
Anonymous