Community Feedback

Community Feedback

Reply
*Pro
Jason.Piercey
Posts: 1,274
Registered: ‎04-04-2001
Message 1 of 6 (434 Views)

Static Navigation Pane?

434 Views, 5 Replies
06-10-2010 07:57 AM

The "Float board to top" is helpful but still far too many clicks to get back

and forth between groups you wish to participate in (not to mention the

time delay).  Is there some way to enable a "Static Navigation Pane"

where these "floated" boards could always be visible on the screeen?

 

You know, pretty much like a newsreader operates.

 

Employee
wrighte
Posts: 661
Registered: ‎09-22-2008
Message 2 of 6 (424 Views)

Re: Static Navigation Pane?

06-10-2010 04:07 PM in reply to: Jason.Piercey

I wonder if just using browser favorites could compliment the float to top. Specifically I use FF folders for my frequent boards.  Doesn't quite give you visibility into forum activity, but may make linking between favorite boards more efficient.

 



Eric Wright
Sr. Web Product Manager
Autodesk Knowledge Network
Autodesk, Inc.

*Pro
Jason.Piercey
Posts: 1,274
Registered: ‎04-04-2001
Message 3 of 6 (415 Views)

Re: Static Navigation Pane?

06-11-2010 06:31 AM in reply to: wrighte

I'll try that out and see how it works for me, sure can't be any worse

than the current click, wait, click wait, repeat.

Valued Contributor
amason43
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎06-09-2010
Message 4 of 6 (406 Views)

Re: Static Navigation Pane?

06-11-2010 09:04 AM in reply to: Jason.Piercey

I am using browser bookmarks, and just leaving Chrome open all day.  The nice thing about Chrome (maybe a feature in other browsers?) is that you can open all bookmarks in a folder at once.  The problem is that it doesn't work to do that on these discussion groups.  All the tabs open, but they don't all go to the correct group.  I'm pretty sure it has to do with the fact that it logs in separately for each tab.

Anthony Mason - CAD/BIM Manager
Nichols Melburg & Rossetto Architects + Engineers
Blog: Daily Occurrence
AutoCAD Architecture 2008 SP2 / Revit Architecture 2011
Microsoft Windows XP SP3 / Google Chrome
Distinguished Contributor
ACADuser
Posts: 1,205
Registered: ‎12-22-2003
Message 5 of 6 (405 Views)

Re: Static Navigation Pane?

06-11-2010 09:10 AM in reply to: Jason.Piercey

My workaround is to righ click the forum and select "open in new tab". I do this for each forum then just switch tabs within IE to change forums.  Maybe not the best method but works for me.

ACADuser
Civil 3D 2015, Raster Design 2015
Windows 7 Enterprise
Dell Precision T5500 Workstation
Dual Quad Core Intel Xeon 2.53GHz Processors
24GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 4800 1.5GB
DUAL 27" Dell UltraSharp U2713HM
Distinguished Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎01-13-2003
Message 6 of 6 (392 Views)

Re: Static Navigation Pane?

06-11-2010 02:10 PM in reply to: ACADuser

That's what I'm trying too, saving my tab group as "AutoCAD Discussion" which includes 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, Cad Manglers, etc.  Then in IE8 you can open an entire group.  Still slower and clunkier than heck and navigation within threads is counterproductive at best.

 

Seems like a static nav pane would be very helpful, I've seen that before.  I wish desk woould get some test user input into syuff like this before forcing a switch... oh, forgot, that what they do with each software release too.

 

Hopefully our beta efforts on this site will also not go wasted.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.