Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to civil 3D modeling..Help with channel design

35 REPLIES 35
Message 1 of 36
sonnyamorales
2736 Views, 35 Replies

New to civil 3D modeling..Help with channel design

Ok, so I am new to desiging with civil 3d and have been reading and searching froums to help answer some questions, but i am still finding it hard to understand and know if i am doing it right.

So here is were i am at.

I have:

EG surface

EG profile

Proposed alignment

Proposed channel profile

I am having trouble using/understanding the channel subassembly.

1.  If i have already set my bottom elevation of channel, what do i put in for the "depth" parameter within the assembly? does not allow "0"

2.  need my side slopes to be 3:1 until the hit the EG.  what controls all this?  the side slope parameter creats the slope, but than it just runs up to the "attachment point" im assuming....do i need anything in the other parameters or do i just set their targets to my EG surface and it will daylight to it?

3.  along the same lines of the above question, what if i need my side slopes to be 3:1 for 5' than 2:1 till EG? 

4.  Do i need a daylighting subassembly to accomplish what i want?

If this does not make sense, please let me know and i will do my best to explain my confusion.  I have posted on other forums with some help, but am still onfused so thought id try a different one.

35 REPLIES 35
Message 2 of 36
troma
in reply to: sonnyamorales

I'm not the best subassembly guy around, but I found something that might be helpful:

http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2013/ENU/index.html

Mark Green

Working on Civil 3D in Canada

Message 3 of 36
toyhonda86