Character Generator Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Character Generator Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Character Generator topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Characters and content generated under the free category

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
SaxonRah
5196 Views, 12 Replies

Characters and content generated under the free category

So I've made some models and when generated they abide by the free options of the character generator. I've tried to make sense of the ToS but I'm not a lawyer. Heck I'm not even an artist which is why this tool looks so good to me.
I did see someone post that you could use the paid versions using the cloud credits in a game, but can i use the generated characters / content i.e. the generated fbx file, textures, and skeleton in a commercial application(Game) royalty free ?

Also, if we can use them. Can we edit the mesh, skeleton, and textures and then use them ?

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
luc.vovan
in reply to: SaxonRah

I believe you have no restriction on them too.  Let me ask Henry to come and answer you directly in this thread!

Cheers!

Luc

Message 3 of 13
herbsanborn7782
in reply to: luc.vovan

The free ver is great for a quick mesh that I can edit and make my own character. I pop it into maya bump up poly count if need. Then Add IK / FK switches + inverse feet and controllers. Also stoping on the way to organise the hypergraph, and what have you. The general thing you want to remember when useing something that is not yours, keep in mind it is not yours. I don't think the characters have any watermarks in the textures. However I would not pop out a character in the software and slap a copyright symbol on it 😉 If you truly wish to make characters in maya that are 100% yours. Do your home work, Autodesk sells books videos + not to mention youtube and gnomon workshops... All that stuff is out there