Autodesk Technology Managers Forum
Share your knowledge, ask questions, and engage with fellow CAD/BIM Managers.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is my best Licensing Option?

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
cLenkeit
455 Views, 3 Replies

What is my best Licensing Option?

First off let me say that I'm new to managing the drafters we have at our company.  I've always headed up the field dept but after some consolidation and restructuring I'm now in charge of our drafters as well.  I only mention this because I'm a complete noob regarding different versions of AutoCad and licensing - so please be gentle 🙂

We currently have some hodge-podge of licenses and versions and at some point we had a subscription too.  I can't seem to find records for what we have and I'm hoping to pretty much start fresh with all new versions of CAD on all stations.  Our company does as-built drawings in which we create site and floor plans for various properties.  All the drawings we do are 2D so generally we only need a very basic version of AutoCAD.  The only hangup there is that we also provide clients with topographical information in the form of spot elevations.  In the past these have been easier to deal with in AutoCAD versions made for civil engineers or people dealing with topography.  The version we were using (Land Desktop) is no longer available or supported by Autodesk, so I'm not sure what our next best option is.  Any suggestions?

But I digress, back to the other issue, licensing.  We have multiple employees and multiple stations and I'm not sure what the most affordable licensing arrangement is.  We have 3 full time drafters, 3 part time drafters, and one person who needs to be able to view and print dwg files.  Any suggestions on what I should do?

Again, sorry for my lack of knowledge, but this is not my background and I'm barely treading water...  Thanks for your help.

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
OMCUSNR
in reply to: cLenkeit