CAD Managers

CAD Managers

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
KyleDasan
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎04-12-2006
Message 1 of 65 (123 Views)

Transitioning to and implementing Revit

123 Views, 64 Replies
10-12-2007 08:34 AM
This is a portion of a post I did in Augi.

"Recently, the company head raised the Red Flag, and said, “We need to go to Revit.”

First off, let me get this out of the way and say that I hate Revit. While I feel that’s it’s a cool flashy program, and I see and like where it’s going, I really don’t see the practicality of it for our companies needs, and feel that it’s not quite there yet. Secondly, you can’t draw in it the same way as you do AutoCAD, and quite frankly, I like AutoCAD’s command interface a helluva lot better than Revit’s. I mean no command line, and no keyboard commands?! C’mon! That’s like a one button mouse! Autodesk take note….don’t you ever….EVER…take away the command line and keyboard commands from AutoCAD. EVER. Okay my rant’s over. I could go on, but I’m in the wrong forum for that. And who knows, after a year, my tune can completely change after using it for a while. But right now, I hate it.

But I’ve been fighting this losing battle for a while now, and it’s time to raise the white flag."

Now I've gotten nothing but praise and well wishes over in Augi, and I do appreciate it. But, what I'm actually looking for here, is the Anti-Revit, or horror stories with a Revit implementation. It's going to happen, I can't stop it. But the more negative info I get, the better I can prepare myself. Quite simply, I've seen the clean, and shiney and pretty. Now I need the down and dirty. Now I need the other side of the coin.

Fire away with your comments.....
Thanks.
*Corey A. Layton
Message 2 of 65 (123 Views)

Re: Transitioning to and implementing Revit

10-12-2007 08:45 AM in reply to: KyleDasan
KyleDasan wrote:
> and no keyboard commands?! C'mon!

I'm fairly certain that Revit allows for keyboard command entry?
Distinguished Contributor
pcaruthers
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-21-2005
Message 3 of 65 (123 Views)

Re: Transitioning to and implementing Revit

10-12-2007 08:58 AM in reply to: KyleDasan
I've had the privilege of transitioning several companies to 3D software from 2D programs like Autocad. In all honesty the most difficult part hasn't been learning the new software, it's been changing the way people think.....it's a different thought process. you're not drawing lines anymore, you're building a virtual model of the building. I admit, I haven't done the Revit thing, but I too know it's coming. Every company I've done has been to ADT.

Good luck! I'll be joining you in the next 6 months I'm sure!

Paul Caruthers
Bessolo Design Group
Distinguished Contributor
KyleDasan
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎04-12-2006
Message 4 of 65 (123 Views)

Re: Transitioning to and implementing Revit

10-12-2007 10:20 AM in reply to: KyleDasan
It does....for mesurments and the like. And I'm sure theres some keyboard shorcuts.

But I like like typing in "L" then hitting enter, rather than go finding a stupid icon to draw a line. I hardly ever use toolbars...so perhaps I should have said command aliases... Message was edited by: KyleDasan
*Kate M
Message 5 of 65 (123 Views)

Re: Transitioning to and implementing Revit

10-12-2007 10:21 AM in reply to: KyleDasan
Won't find any of those from me. Deployments are easy, it doesn't crash, and
I've yet to come across something that was shown at a demo that I can't
replicate.

That said, GET TRAINING. Lots of it. Like Paul says, it's a completely
different way of looking at it. Revit's not hard, but it is different, and
you need at least a few people who really understand it. Formal training's
the only way to get that understanding.

wrote in message news:5748144@discussion.autodesk.com...
This is a portion of a post I did in Augi.

"Recently, the company head raised the Red Flag, and said, "We need to go to
Revit."

First off, let me get this out of the way and say that I hate Revit. While I
feel that's it's a cool flashy program, and I see and like where it's going,
I really don't see the practicality of it for our companies needs, and feel
that it's not quite there yet. Secondly, you can't draw in it the same way
as you do AutoCAD, and quite frankly, I like AutoCAD's command interface a
helluva lot better than Revit's. I mean no command line, and no keyboard
commands?! C'mon! That's like a one button mouse! Autodesk take note..don't
you ever..EVER.take away the command line and keyboard commands from
AutoCAD. EVER. Okay my rant's over. I could go on, but I'm in the wrong
forum for that. And who knows, after a year, my tune can completely change
after using it for a while. But right now, I hate it.

But I've been fighting this losing battle for a while now, and it's time to
raise the white flag."

Now I've gotten nothing but praise and well wishes over in Augi, and I do
appreciate it. But, what I'm actually looking for here, is the Anti-Revit,
or horror stories with a Revit implementation. It's going to happen, I
can't stop it. But the more negative info I get, the better I can prepare
myself. Quite simply, I've seen the clean, and shiney and pretty. Now I
need the down and dirty. Now I need the other side of the coin.

Fire away with your comments.....
Thanks.
*Corey A. Layton
Message 6 of 65 (123 Views)

Re: Transitioning to and implementing Revit

10-12-2007 10:27 AM in reply to: KyleDasan
KyleDasan wrote:
> It does....for mesurments and the like. And I'm sure theres some
> keyboard shorcuts.
>
> But I like like typing in "L" then hitting enter, rather than go
> finding a stupid icon to draw a line. I hardly ever use
> toolbars...so perhaps I should have said command aliases...

all the Revit key-in commands are 2-key.


>draw a line.


"What's a line?"

Distinguished Contributor
pcaruthers
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎10-21-2005
Message 7 of 65 (123 Views)

Re: Transitioning to and implementing Revit

10-12-2007 11:30 AM in reply to: KyleDasan
I agree with Kate 100% Formal Training, and several levels of it for your key people. It's not a good idea to just train the trainer. Everyone should have a basic class, then a select few should take it to the next level or 2 would be even better.

Paul
Distinguished Contributor
KyleDasan
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎04-12-2006
Message 8 of 65 (123 Views)

Re: Transitioning to and implementing Revit

10-12-2007 11:44 AM in reply to: KyleDasan
In AutoCAD, a line can be whatever the heck you want it to be. THAT'S THE BEAUTIFUL THING! It can be defined later....
*Corey A. Layton
Message 9 of 65 (123 Views)

Re: Transitioning to and implementing Revit

10-12-2007 12:00 PM in reply to: KyleDasan
KyleDasan wrote:
> In AutoCAD, a line can be whatever the heck you want it to be.
> THAT'S THE BEAUTIFUL THING! It can be defined later....

you were obviously wearing your foil hat
when the Autodesk Mothership's Brain-Washing beam
(powered by Revit(tm) )
passed over your town...

nice work!
what clued you in?
Distinguished Contributor
KyleDasan
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎04-12-2006
Message 10 of 65 (123 Views)

Re: Transitioning to and implementing Revit

10-12-2007 12:16 PM in reply to: KyleDasan
No clue,
I habitually wear a foil hat to dissrupt the goverment/alien mind probe beams....
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.