CAD Managers

CAD Managers

Reply
Member
FDRC2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-14-2013
Message 1 of 13 (526 Views)

Transferring old versions of Autocad

526 Views, 12 Replies
11-13-2013 03:12 AM

We have Autocad 2003 (or 2002 or 2004 I'm not sure which it is without looking) on an old pc that is being replaced by our IT department. Unfortunately they've lost the original Autocad installation CD so we can't reinstall it on a newer machine. Is there somewhere (through the Autodesk website or elsewhere) where we can download the program? We have a "dongle" that plugs in the back of the pc that will verify our licence.

 

Will we be able to download the program anywhere or is it a case of tough cookie? (They'll never fork out for a new version.)

 

Thanks to anyone that can advise.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,277
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 2 of 13 (515 Views)

Re: Transferring old versions of Autocad

11-13-2013 09:57 AM in reply to: FDRC2

Probably not.  You can try asking in the Installation and Licensing board, but you probably won't get anywhere.  I'm starting to sound like a broken record, but... backups aren't just for drawings.  You *are* allowed to create back-up copies for your installers, and its one of the first things you should be doing with any software you have.  Include it in the off-site tape backups you have, so that its available in case of catastrophic emergency, such as flooding.  Be sure to include all relevant information - contract numbers, licenses, product ID's, and the like.

 

They really should be willing to pay (and should be budgeting) for a new copy if its one of the tools being used.  You might be able to get away with one of the low-cost clones but those have limitations as well.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Contributor
Wanderer-MOTD
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 3 of 13 (511 Views)

Re: Transferring old versions of Autocad

11-13-2013 10:56 AM in reply to: FDRC2
dgorsman is right, Autodesk doesn't typically go back that far and your company is penny-pinching on a basic and vital tool. The improvements made in the software in the past decade are redonkulously handy (you can quote me on that), even if you only use a small portion.

NOW, if you have got your serial number and your dongle, *my* suggestion would be to talk to some local folks until you find some hoarders. In my Local Users Group, I'm sure we've got at least 3 or 4 hoarders who have been nostaligic enough to hold onto their old media (I include myself in that, at my last job, I kept every release from r12 onward, locked in my office and never left them unattended with IT... they took my photoshop disc and I've never forgiven them.).
Obviously, you can't use their serial numbers, but, you might be able to make backups of their install discs.
Melanie Perry
***not all those who wander are lost***
http://AUGI.com/Surveys
http://MistressOfTheDorkness.blogspot.com

My defunct profiles:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/651859
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/644095
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,244
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 13 (491 Views)

Re: Transferring old versions of Autocad

11-13-2013 04:45 PM in reply to: FDRC2
Ebay: find someone willing to sell you their original Authentic media and you should be able to use your own serial numbers/dongle to activate it.

Just make sure the media is from the same region of the world that you are in. Yes, it will cost you money if you are only willing to consider AutoCAD as the replacement. Sorry.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
FDRC2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-14-2013
Message 5 of 13 (486 Views)

Re: Transferring old versions of Autocad

11-14-2013 01:09 AM in reply to: FDRC2

Thanks guys.  I didn't realise we'd need a serial number as well, that will almost definately be lost somewhere.

 

I'll have a look on ebay just incase they have cheap versions. I wonder how legal this is though, I imagine the licence granted is based on the user?

 

I will suggest they update their versions (and use the phrase "penny-pinching" which might have some impact).

 

Thanks again.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,244
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 13 (478 Views)

Re: Transferring old versions of Autocad

11-14-2013 04:56 AM in reply to: FDRC2
OMG :smileyhappy:

Without your original serial numbers, anything you buy that is that old may not activate on the Autodesk servers and would be useless to you all. Your company might want to invest in some kind of software auditing and controls systems, and archiving in the interim while you all work out solutions.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
Wanderer-MOTD
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 7 of 13 (466 Views)

Re: Transferring old versions of Autocad

11-14-2013 06:44 AM in reply to: FDRC2
I'm certain dean meant ebay purely for the media, not for the license. If you don't have your own serial number, the media won't do you any good.

But, another bit of advice for the future, just as you should safeguard your media, you should also keep record of all of the serial numbers (I kept software and hardware records, including IP address and driver links, in a single document, just to make it easy on anyone else in my department who needed to view any of the data).
Melanie Perry
***not all those who wander are lost***
http://AUGI.com/Surveys
http://MistressOfTheDorkness.blogspot.com

My defunct profiles:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/651859
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/644095
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 13 (461 Views)

Re: Transferring old versions of Autocad

11-14-2013 07:06 AM in reply to: Wanderer-MOTD
Reminds me of back in the day, dealing with users who had hardware locks (any software, not just autodesk) -- and they would "lose" them and ask for a "free" replacement.

This topic makes we wonder also.... if it would be legal for one of your horders to copy a physical CD for the OP, would it be any different to copy the CD to dropbox and let the OP download it...?


*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,277
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 9 of 13 (456 Views)

Re: Transferring old versions of Autocad

11-14-2013 08:36 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Not a lawyer by any means, but I would think so provided its a one-off and not mass sharing to anybody who wants to download it.  The payment is for the right to use the software, and the rights are granted through the activation process not the physical storage media.  There *might* be a small copyright issue associated with the content of the media but for a one off it could be overlooked.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Distinguished Contributor
Wanderer-MOTD
Posts: 204
Registered: ‎03-04-2004
Message 10 of 13 (454 Views)

Re: Transferring old versions of Autocad

11-14-2013 08:52 AM in reply to: rkmcswain
Hardware lock? That's a little before my time.
Melanie Perry
***not all those who wander are lost***
http://AUGI.com/Surveys
http://MistressOfTheDorkness.blogspot.com

My defunct profiles:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/651859
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/user/viewprofilepage/user-id/644095
Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.